State wrestling tournament

March 03, 2006

What: 37th Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association State Wrestling Tournament

Where: Cole Field House, College Park

Format: Double elimination

Schedule: Today, 2:30-6 p.m., preliminaries on eight mats; 6-8 p.m., quarterfinals on eight mats; 8-9:45 p.m., consolation preliminaries on eight mats. Tomorrow, 9:30-11 a.m., consolation first round on eight mats; 11-1:15 p.m., championship semifinals on four mats; 1:15-2:15 p.m., consolation quarterfinals on eight mats; 2:15-3:30 p.m., consolation semifinals on eight mats; 4-6 p.m., consolation finals on four mats; 6:30-9 p.m., championship finals on two mats

Tickets: $25 all-session two-day pass; $15 all-session one-day pass; $8 after 8 p.m. on Friday and after 6 p.m. on Saturday. Children 6 and under free.


Defending champion Walt Whitman. Contenders: Damascus of Montgomery County, LaPlata of Charles County, Arundel, Broadneck, North Carroll, Old Mill.


Defending champions: Sherwood's Andy Lowy (119), Magruder's Zach Tolbert (125), Arundel's Justin Bowser (125), Walt Whitman's Eren Civan* (152), Magruder's John Holloway (215).

State runners-up: Old Mill's Greg Saumenig (112), LaPlata's Dane Orzechowski (119), River Hill's Taylor Green* (152), LaPlata's Eric Jobe (275).

Potential title-bout matchups of unbeaten wrestlers: Centennial's Mike Montanez (130, 35-0) vs. Northern of Calvert's Collin Leadbeter (34-0), who beat Montanez in overtime last year; River Hill's Taylor Green (152, 30-0) vs. Walt Whitman's Eren Civan (34-0), who have never met; Wilde Lake's Zach Brown (215, 27-0) vs. Magruder's John Holloway (27-0), who edged Brown, 10-6, last year.


Defending champion: Owings Mills. Contenders: Stephen Decatur of Berlin, Hammond, Hereford, Liberty, South Carroll.


Defending champions: Northern of Garrett County's Casey Kamp (125), Calvert County's Ryan Buff (135), Hammond's Vince Taweel* (140), Hereford's Josh Asper (145), North Dorchester's Josh Whitelock (171), Liberty's Brandon Gervie.

State runners-up: Century's Alex Grassi (119), Harford Tech's Mike Long* (130), Harford Tech's Matt Kahl (145), Owings Mills' Ben McCree (160), Stephen Decatur's Nathan Bourne (160), Northern of Garrett County's Brock Glotfelty (215).

* - Two-time state champion or two-time state runner-up

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.