UMBC women win 3rd in row, 63-37


February 02, 2006|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Amanda Robinson scored 16 points and the host UMBC women's basketball team won its third straight, a 63-37 decision over Binghamton last night.

The Retrievers (11-8, 3-5 America East) produced a 32-3 run from midway in the first half to the opening minutes of the second.

The Bearcats (12-7, 5-3) committed 21 turnovers and were outscored 34-8 on turnovers.

Binghamton finished with a season-low 37 points on 29.2 percent shooting from the field.

York 68, Goucher 51 -- Shadae Swan led all scorers with 17 points, but the host Gophers (6-9, 2-7 Capital Athletic Conference) fell to the Spartans (11-9, 5-4). Kristen Daly and Heidi Miller had 12 and 10 points, respectively, for York, which has beaten Goucher in 21 of 22 meetings.

Salisbury 65, Gallaudet 41 -- Kat Kordal and Katie McFarland scored 11 points each as the host Sea Gulls (12-7, 5-4 Capital) ended a three-game losing streak. Salisbury outrebounded the Bison (3-17, 1-7) by 62-39 and forced 33 turnovers. Salisbury's bench outscored the Bison's reserves 42-2.

Marymount 61, St. Mary's 59 -- Stephanie Witko came up with a rebound and scored in the last 16 seconds to seal the win for the visiting Saints (13-7, 5-4 Capital Athletic Conference). The Seahawks (8-12, 3-6) gave up the lead in the final three minutes and could get no closer than one. St. Mary's Taylor Yearwood led all scorers with 15 points.


Johns Hopkins 52, Swarthmore 44 -- Matt Griffin and Danny Nawrocki combined for 33 points to lead the host Blue Jays (15-4, 11-2 Centennial Conference) past the Garnet Tide (4-16, 3-10). Griffin scored a team-high 19 points, making six of 11 from the field and seven of nine from the free-throw line. Nawrocki added 14 points to go along with nine rebounds. Ian McCormick recorded his fifth double double of the season for Swarthmore with 21 points and 10 rebounds.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.