160 Maryland teachers earn top certification

51 are from the Baltimore area

they were honored after a rigorous, voluntary application process


One hundred sixty Maryland public school teachers are among 7,289 teachers nationwide who earned the highest credential in the teaching profession, National Board Certification, in 2005.

There are a total of 47,503 teachers - 659 in Maryland - certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

Applying for the certification is voluntary. Teachers go through a rigorous application process that typically lasts more than a year and requires them to demonstrate how their activities, inside the classroom and out, improve student achievement. They must create portfolios and undergo assessments and observations by other educators.

Among the 160 Maryland teachers who earned the certification this year are 51 from the Baltimore area. They are listed below.

Anne Arundel County: Rachel Amstutz, Severna Park Middle; Patricia Appell, Georgetown East Elementary; Sue Casler, Crofton Middle; Sue Ann Chase, North County High; Janet Doherty, Richard Henry Lee Elementary; Daniel Fluharty, North County High; Kortney Gibbons, Crofton Middle; Jennifer Hirschbock, Edgewater Elementary; Monique Jackson, Central Middle; Catherine Jaeger, Crofton Middle; Vicki Johnson, Lake Shore Elementary; Catherine Maloney, Broadneck Elementary; Laura Martien, Edgewater Elementary; Sheila McDermott, Tyler Heights Elementary; Helen Mihm, Crofton Middle; Bonnie Myers, Bodkin Elementary; Rebecca Palmer, Shipley's Choice Elementary; Brenda Poist, Old Mill High; LeAnn Reigrut, George Fox Middle; Tara Rose, Richard Henry Lee Elementary; Wendy Scheleur, Piney Orchard Elementary; Kyra Seely, Glen Burnie High; Barbara Selwocki, Old Mill High; Diane Wagner, Crofton Middle; Debra Ann Witt, Lake Shore Elementary; and Barbara Wood, Meade Heights Elementary.

Baltimore City: Martha Armenti, City College; Vasantha Ayilavarapu, Federal Hill Preparatory School; Elissaveta Bachvarova, Mergenthaler Vocational-Technical High; Laurie Balmford, Hamilton Elementary/Middle; Sarah Heinrich, City College; Karen Hodges, Academy for College and Career Exploration; Emily Maunz, New Song Academy; Jessica Saven, Robert Poole Middle; Linda Valle, Mount Royal Elementary/Middle; and Charlene White, Roland Park Elementary/Middle.

Baltimore County: Sharon Adedeji, Owings Mills High; Natalie Avallone, Patapsco High; Carisa Bowman, Deep Creek Middle; Kenneth Gogel, Essex Elementary; Diane Hendry, Pot Spring Elementary; Judith Meusel, Glenmar Elementary; Jennifer Pinsky-Newman, Dulaney High; William Robertson, Perry Hall High; and Monica Simonsen, Rolling Road Center Carriage House.

Harford County: Mark Anticole, C. Milton Wright High School, and Marianne Kozlowski, Deerfield Elementary.

Howard County: William Aldrich II, Mayfield Woods Middle; Deborah Gray, Talbott Springs Elementary; William Kenney, Patapsco Middle; and Marya Pecukonis, Triadelphia Ridge Elementary.


Sun reporters Anica Butler and Justin Fenton contributed to this article.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.