Howard All-county

December 14, 2005


Player of the Year

Matt Stara

River Hill

The senior defender was the strongest two-way player in the county, closing out a fine four-year career having been part of four state titles at River Hill. Best known for his trademark long throw-ins, which attributed to the majority of his 24 assists this season, Stara made smart decisions in the back, had a strong foot and provided leadership. The team captain, who scored six goals, capably handled most of the Hawks' free kicks with a knack for ideally placing the ball in front to create better scoring chances.

Coach of the Year

Rick Bantz


Using a defense-first approach and making the most of his limited offensive resources, the second-year coach was able to lead the Golden Bears (11-3-5) to their first Class 2A state title game, a 1-0 loss to Liberty. Bantz, previously an assistant coach at Oakland Mills under Don Shea, molded a young group that played together as a strong collective unit -- its state final performance proof -- as a dynamic Liberty offense was shut down for the game's first 75 minutes. The Bears avenged a regular-season loss to defending state champion Atholton by winning the regional crown.

First team

Name School Class Position

John Beltran Atholton Junior Forward

Chris Finney Oakland Mills Senior Forward

Justin Martinelli Mount Hebron Junior Forward

Orlin Cruz Long Reach Senior Midfield


Ebrahimnejad Hammond Junior Midfield

Chris Franczkowski Mount Hebron Senior Midfield

Tyler Meade River Hill Senior Midfield

Grayson Schmelzer Atholton Senior Midfield

Zach Barnett Mount Hebron Junior Defense

Kevin Gibson Oakland Mills Senior Defense

Matt Stara River Hill Senior Defense

Matt Moss River Hill Senior Goalie

Second team

Name School Class Position

Malcolm Joseph River Hill Senior Forward

Jose Maldonado Hammond Senior Midfield

Corey Marcon Oakland Mills Soph. Midfield

Mike Napolitano Mount Hebron Junior Midfield

Teddy Smith Centennial Senior Midfield

Greg Sneeringer River Hill Junior Midfield

Kevin Duff Wilde Lake Junior Defense

Jhovany Fuentes Long Reach Senior Defense

Sam Lauber Howard Senior Defense

Jason Parfitt Atholton Junior Defense

David Waschak River Hill Senior Defense

David Griffith Hammond Junior Goalie

Note: Teams selected by Glenn Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.


Player of the Year

Lily Boleyn


After spending her junior year at the IMG Soccer Academy in Bradenton Fla., Boleyn returned to Centennial this fall and sparked the Eagles to a second straight county championship. The gifted forward, who moved up from the midfield for this season, scored 13 goals -- including four game-winners -- and added five assists as the revamped Eagles went 8-0-1 in county play and reached the regional championship game. A constant threat who made teammates around her better, Boleyn is going to Clemson next fall on a soccer scholarship.

Coach of the Year

Jeff Bradbury


The Gators enjoyed a breakthrough season under Bradbury, capturing their first Class 2A South regional crown to qualify for the state tournament. Reservoir played its best when it counted the most, coming away with 1-0 wins over county foes Atholton, Glenelg and Oakland Mills in the regional playoffs before falling to eventual state champion Eastern Tech in the state semifinals. With a handful of standout players returning next fall, Bradbury hopes the foundation is set for continued success.

First team

Name School Class Position

Diana Apel Glenelg Junior Forward

Lily Boleyn Centennial Senior Forward

Erica Suter River Hill Soph. Forward

Erika Theisen River Hill Junior Forward

Kathryn Lally Mount Hebron Junior Midfield

Danielle Rosanova Centennial Senior Midfield

Sara Tankard River Hill Junior Midfield

Alissa Bourne Glenelg Junior Defense

Kara Passarelli Mount Hebron Junior Defense

Sarah Thomas Centennial Senior Defense

Nikki Welch Wilde Lake Senior Defense

Christa Puccio Reservoir Senior Goalie

Second team

Name School Class Position

Amanda Feaga Glenelg Junior Forward

Rasa Ghaffarain Atholton Senior Forward

Chelsea Godbout Reservoir Junior Forward

Meghan Mastalerz Howard Soph. Forward

Bali Boule Oakland Mills Junior Midfield

Meghan Braun Glenelg Junior Midfield

Amy Holcombe Wilde Lake Junior Midfield

Kate Nicholson Atholton Senior Midfield

Sara Cooper Centennial Junior Defense

Meg Simms River Hill Soph. Defense

Samantha Young Atholton Junior Defense

Chelsea Binder Mount Hebron Senior Goalie

Note: Teams selected by Glenn Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.