Anne Arundel All-county

December 14, 2005


Offensive Player

Ryan Callahan

Old Mill

Callahan finished his sensational three-year varsity career by running for 1,940 yards and scoring 34 touchdowns (31 rushing) to lead the Patriots (10-3) to the state semifinals for the first time in school history. The 5-foot-7, 150-pound senior tailback is the first player to repeat as the Offensive Player of the Year since Rayvon Johnson of Annapolis in 1997-1998. Like Johnson, Callahan also has won the Rhodes Trophy, presented by the Annapolis Touchdown Club to the county's best player, in successive years. Callahan set state career records for touchdowns (87) and points scored (530) while running for 5,253 yards, which ranks fifth among the seven players who have rushed for 5,000 yards. In addition, he owns 18 school and county records, including single-season marks for rushing yards (2,396), touchdowns (36) and points (218), and career records for most 100-yard games (27 in his 35 career games) and most games with at least one touchdown (32).

Defensive Player

Mike Whittles


The enforcer on defense, Whittles, a linebacker, led the Cavaliers to their best season in school history. Spalding (10-1) won its first football championship by taking the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association B Conference crown with a 35-10 win over Boys' Latin in the inaugural final. Whittles became the first Cavalier to be named Player of the Year in football since the award began in 1980. The 6-foot-1, 210-pound senior had 104 tackles (eight for losses), forced five fumbles and recovered two, including one in the B Conference final that he returned 54 yards to set up a touchdown. In one of the keys to the championship victory, Whittles moved to the outside to cover Boys' Latin's outstanding, 6-5, 235-pound receiver, Brian Farrell. Whittles held Farrell, the metro area's leading receiver with 53 catches for 1,091 yards and nine touchdowns, to two catches for 37 yards. Whittles, who also ran for 104 yards and two touchdowns as a fullback in the final, finished with 783 yards rushing and six touchdowns.

Coach of the Year

Mike Whittles


Whittles led the Cavaliers to their first title in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association B Conference and a school record for wins (10-1). He turned a perennial loser into a winner, going 26-5 during the past three seasons, culminating with this year's championship on his 52nd birthday. Spalding had only two returning starters on defense and only one returning starter on the offensive line. The Cavaliers had just two winning seasons before the seventh-year coach started the current run by stressing hard work in the weight room and in the offseason. Like his son, he is the first from Spalding to receive this honor.

First-team offense

Name School Class Pos.

Kyle Sumpter Arundel Senior QB

Greg Zingler Severna Park Senior QB

Ryan Callahan Old Mill Senior RB

Damien Kinchen Annapolis Senior RB

Chris Hunt Severna Park Junior WR

Ray Mack North County Senior WR

Vince Downs Northeast Senior OT

Ken McDonald Old Mill Junior OT

Zack Farrington North County Senior OG

Sean Urbany Arundel Senior OG

Ethan Vidal Severna Park Senior C

Steve Holmes Old Milll Senior K

First-team defense

Name School Class Pos.

David Horn Severna Park Senior DE

Kyle Kniesley SouthRiver Senior DE

Carlos James Broadneck Senior DL

Dominique Moore Arundel Senior DL

Justin Weston Annapolis Senior DL

Mark Otto Severna Park Senior LB

Jake Trantin Spalding Junior LB

Terone Travis Arundel Senior LB

Mike Whittles Spalding Senior LB

Brandon Gonzalez Arundel Junior DB

Sean Rohrs Broadneck Senior DB

A.J. Wineke Spalding Senior P

Second-team offense

Name School Class Pos.

Josh McQuade North County Senior QB

Brandon Johnson Broadneck Senior RB

Tom Massie Severna Park Senior RB

Josh Wright South River Junior RB

Zack Holbrook Severn Junior AP

B. Johnson-Farrell Arundel Soph. WR

Marcelus Manear Meade Senior WR

Tim Brown South River Senior OT

Evan Humphrey Glen Burnie Junior OT

Chase Kettler Severna Park Senior OG

Carl Nestor Northeast Senior OG

Zach Potter Spalding Senior C

Second-team defense

Name School Class Pos.

Anthony Brown Meade Senior DE

Matt Cassilly Spalding Senior DE

Chris Fortune Chesapeake Senior DL

Mike Hite Northeast Junior DL

Lewis Spadaro Severna Park Senior DL

Rhett Depol St. Mary's Junior LB

Maurice Royster North County Senior LB

Jon Schwartz Annapolis Junior LB

Justin Soboleski Old Mill Senior LB

Derelle Brown Southern Junior DB

Cliff Green Annapolis Senior DB

Malcolm Green Old Mill Junior DB

Note: Teams selected by Pat O'Malley after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.