Baltimore All-city

December 14, 2005




Christy Johnson

Bryn Mawr

With former city Runner of the Year Lauren Childs taking a break from cross country this past fall, the burden of being the Mawrtians' No. 1 runner fell on Johnson's shoulders. Johnson, a half-mile and mile standout in track, shed the pressure just as she shed her competition. Aside from placing fourth at the Harford Invitational, the senior scored victories in the elite division at Bull Run, the private schools race at the Meade Autumn Classic and the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference championships.

Coach of the Year

Jim Lancaster

Seton Keough

In a span of a month, Lancaster and the Gators delivered two firsts for the school's cross country program. The team's win in the A1 division of the Doc Jones Anne Arundel County Invitational gave Seton Keough its first victory in an invitational. That display catapulted the Gators to their first Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland B Conference title. Seton Keough's average time at the championship meet was faster than all of the A Conference teams, including A Conference titlist Notre Dame Prep.

The team

Name School Class

Alyssa Doyle Seton Keough Junior

Demia Franklin Digital Harbor Junior

Brittney Griffin Digital Harbor Senior

Christy Johnson Bryn Mawr Senior

Megan McQuillan Seton Keough Junior

Jen Mitton Bryn Mawr Junior

Laura Paulsen Bryn Mawr Senior

Katie Sacker Seton Keough Soph.

Nykeisha Sewell Mervo Junior

Kitria Stewart Mervo Soph.

Note: Teams selected by Edward Lee after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.