Baltimore All-city

December 14, 2005



Kelsey Lisle

Seton Keough

A powerhouse, 5-foot-11 outside hitter, Lisle drew lots of attention this fall for leading the metro area in kills per game with 5.18. The junior totaled 321 kills while completing the season with a .554 hitting percentage, a statistic akin to a batting average. Along with that stellar offense, Lisle packaged a terrific all-around game. Her defense stood out, too. An excellent passer, she also had 357 digs, rarely letting anything hit the ground. She served at 92 percent and aced the opposition 39 percent of the time with her jump serve.

Coach of the Year

Tim Dunbar

Bryn Mawr

In just three years with the Mawrtians, Dunbar has turned the program around. A year ago, the Mawrtians finished 1-18 overall and 1-11 in their conference. This fall, they went 14-8 and reached the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland B Conference title match. Dunbar brings plenty of coaching experience -- he won three state titles coaching at Severna Park and was The Sun's All-Metro Coach of the Year in 1991. With more club players on the team, the Mawrtians have become more serious about the sport and played with more confidence.

First team

Name School Class Pos.

Louise Brooks Bryn Mawr Junior Hitter

Erin Cox Poly Soph. Hitter

Meredith Larsen Bryn Mawr Junior Hitter

Kelsey Lisle Seton Keough Junior Hitter

Jessica Osterchrist Roland Park Senior Hitter

Brooke Wilson Western Junior Hitter

Shatera Kimbrough Western Junior Setter

Second team

Name School Class Pos.

Gillian Budd Bryn Mawr Junior Hitter

Brittney Davidson Digital Harbor Junior Hitter

Kristy Harris Catholic Senior Hitter

Amanda Hessinger Roland Park Senior Hitter

Jasmine Keene Poly Junior Hitter

Shannon Lett Western Senior Hitter

Joi Upton Poly Junior Setter

Note: Teams selected by Katherine Dunn after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.