Business Notes


December 11, 2005

Chamber to hold winter gala Jan. 21

The Carroll County Chamber of Commerce will hold its annual winter gala dance from 6 p.m. to 11 p.m. Jan. 21 at Boulevard and Beyond on Route 140, Westminster.

This fundraiser benefits the Charles D. Schaffer Scholarship Fund.

Music will be provided by the New Monopoly, with a cruise ship theme.

Tickets are $75 per person; tables of 10 are $750. A cash bar and valet parking are available.

Reservations are required by Jan. 6.

Information: 410-848-9050.

Deery joins Lehigh as an engineer

Kurt Deery recently joined the staff of Lehigh Cement Co. in Union Bridge as an environmental engineer.

He will be responsible for managing all plant environmental activities, including regulatory compliance, permitting and reporting.

He previously worked as an environmental engineer at LWB Refractories in York, Pa., and Marcor Environmental in Downington, Pa.

Deery has a Bachelor of Science degree in environmental engineering technology from Pennsylvania State University.

Development center gets coordinator

The Carroll County Department of Economic Development has hired Beth A. Woodring as the new county coordinator for the Maryland Small Business Development Center.

She will provide consulting services to existing Carroll County businesses on topics such as financing, training and marketing, and start-up counseling to budding entrepreneurs.

The Department of Economic Development partners with the development center to foster the growth of small business in the county.

Woodring has many years of finance and lending experience, starting as a commercial lender for Mellon Bank. She spent eight years in the Maryland Department of Business and Economic Development finance division, serving as the western region's manager of financing programs.

She has a bachelor's degree in economics from Bucknell University and a master's in business from the Johns Hopkins University.

Technology council elects new leaders

The Carroll Technology Council has announced its newly elected executive team and board of directors.

Officers are: Ron Harrington, president; Judy Stem, vice president; Phil Cornblatt, treasurer; and Alissa Harrington, secretary.

Board members are: Denise Beaver, Carroll County Economic Development; Mike Bell, University of Maryland Cooperative Extension; Gary Davis, Carroll County Public Schools; Richard Lord, ITSS; Rich Rubinstein, America's Remote Help Desk; David Shaffer, Tier One Technologies Partners; Tom Sullivan, State of the Arts; and Robert Wack, Health and Wellness.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.