Vote will be critical for Annapolis

Tuesday's elections for the mayor and the city council could put a new face on the city


When Annapolis voters head to the polls Tuesday, they will have a chance to radically change the face of local government, including in four alderman races without incumbents and choosing among three candidates for mayor.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at 15 city locations.

Norma Stapleton, administer of elections, said she is expecting a big turnout, with Mayor Ellen O. Moyer seeking re-election and the council seats up for grabs.

"We have about 20,000 registered voters in the city," Stapleton said. "And we have some extremely strong candidates, too, extremely so. It'll be good. And I'll be glad when it's over."

Moyer, a Democrat, faces challenges from George O. Kelley Sr., who vacated his Ward 4 alderman's seat and defected to the Republican Party to run against her, and independent candidate Gilbert Renault, a retired federal litigator and former president of the Murray Hill and Ward 1 residents associations.

Local precincts will select new representatives to fill open seats in Wards 1, 2 and 4. They will also seek a new representative for Ward 7, where Michael W. Fox lost his re-election bid in September's Republican primary.

Incumbent David H. Cordle Sr., a Republican, will defend his Ward 5 seat against Democratic challenger James R. Turner, director of the Opportunities Industrialization Center of Anne Arundel County.

In Ward 6, Democrat Cynthia Carter will seek her third term against independent Julie Stankivic, whom she defeated by 69 votes in a three-way race in 2001.

Democratic incumbent Joshua J. Cohen will square off against Regina E. Linton, a retired travel agent and former chief election judge in Baltimore County, in Ward 8.

In Ward 1, Democrat Richard E. Israel, a retired assistant attorney general, faces Republican Doug Burkhart, president of the Monticello Group, in a race for Louise Hammond's open seat.

Michael I. Christman, a Republican and director of business development at Knowledge Management Solutions Inc., will vie with Debbie Rosen McKerrow, a Democrat and president of Chesapeake Estate Services Inc., to replace Sheila M. Tolliver in Ward 2.

Tyrone R. Furman, a counselor with the county department of social services, represents the Republican Party in his Ward 4 race against Democrat Wayne Taylor, an independent contractor with Instant Floors.

Democrat Samuel E. Shropshire, executive director of the Simplicity Forum, and Republican Laura M. Townsend, a manager for Catholic Relief Services, are running in Ward 7.

Only Democrat Classie Gillis Hoyle can rest easy on Tuesday - she is running unopposed for re-election in Ward 3.

A look at the candidates

On Tuesday, Annapolis voters will go to the polls to elect a mayor and eight-member Board of Aldermen. Here are snapshots of the candidates:


Ellen O. Moyer (D)

Age: 69

Professional experience: Retired lobbyist, Maryland State Teachers Association

Education: Bachelor's degree, Penn State; master's of education, Goucher College

Political/civic experience: Mayor since 2001; alderman representing Eastport, 14 years; served on State Board of Education and Maryland State Racing Commission

Web site:

George O. Kelley Sr. (R)

Age: 48

Professional experience: Owner and operator of private security firm; former Annapolis police officer

Education: Attended John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Political/civic experience: Alderman for Ward 4, 2001 to present

Gilbert Renaut (I)

Age: 58

Professional experience: Lawyer, U.S. Department of Energy

Education: Bachelor's degree, St. John's College in Annapolis; law degree, University of Maryland School of Law

Political/civic experience: Past president, Murray Hill Residents Association; other volunteer organizations

Web site:


Richard E. Israel (D)

Age: 62

Professional experience: Retired; worked for 25 years as assistant state attorney general in the legislative office

Education: Bachelor of arts, University of the South, Sewanee; Master's degree, Oxford University

Political/civic experience: Past president, Murray Hill Residents Association; member, Ward One Residents Association; former member, Historic District Commission

Web site:

Doug Burkhardt (R)

Age: 47

Professional experience: President and owner of the Monticello Group, an Annapolis-based consulting firm for emerging technology and mortgage companies

Education: Bachelor of arts, Frostburg State University; graduate business coursework at the University of Maryland.

Political/civic experience: Board chairman, the Sharing Foundation; volunteer, Spa Creek Conservancy and GreenScape; member, Murray Hill Residents Association.

Web site:


Debbie Rosen McKerrow (D)

Age: 57

Professional experience: Owner, Chesapeake Estate Services; 25 years in public relations

Education: Bachelor's degree, journalism, University of Maryland, College Park; master's degree in management, College of Notre Dame of Maryland.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.