PTA votes to retain embattled president

Baltimore & Region

November 04, 2005|By LIZ F. KAY .. | LIZ F. KAY ..,SUN REPORTER

The executive board of the PTA Council of Baltimore County voted to keep its president, Michael C. Franklin, despite a motion made last night to remove him.

Franklin said the vote was "overwhelmingly in support of me." He could not state the actual tally because it was held in closed session.

Executive board members had voted to go into executive session at 9:30 p.m. after Mary Pat Kahle, a member of the nominating committee, moved to dismiss Franklin from the volunteer position he has held since 2002.

The board had earlier named three of its members to form an audit committee.

The group's bylaws call for an annual audit, but no one had named a committee to do it before the fiscal year ended June 30. The failure to have the audit done was one of several complaints levied against Franklin by Kahle and other activists.

Franklin has denied the validity of nearly all of the complaints against him, but acknowledged that the audit had not been done.

He and other board members have said that the responsibility to hold the audit rests with all of the board members.

A small group of activists had pressed for Franklin's ouster, alleging he had failed to follow bylaws and behaved in a "bullying" fashion - accusations that he dismissed yesterday as made by "folks with an axe to grind."

They also oppose his bid to become president-elect of the Maryland PTA, which sent an observer to the meeting.

Franklin, a printing press operator from Randallstown, is in his fourth year as president of the 49,000-member county PTA Council.

He is running unopposed for the state position. If elected this month by school PTA delegates, Franklin would serve two years as president-elect and then become president of the group.

The board plans to write a statement to local school PTAs about the vote.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.