Wilde Lake boys are back

Team captures county title, with River Hill third

Hawks girls ease pain with crown

Cross country

High Schools


Welcome back, Wilde Lake.

Winless in the Howard County cross country championships since 1997, the No. 4 Wildecats boys team upended defending titlist River Hill at Centennial yesterday.

Wilde Lake accrued 58 points on the efforts of senior Travis Boccher (second place in 17 minutes, 21.41 seconds), junior J.P. Allera (third, 17:22.20), sophomore Derek Lange (fifth, 17:36.76), junior Michael Kappert (23rd, 18:36.83) and freshman Jonathan Sham (27th, 18:45.83).

"I'm still trying to take it all in," said Boccher, who, like everyone except for Allera, is running varsity for the first time. "These guys stepped it up. We had guys who chose the perfect time to run their best race of the season."

The No. 2 Hawks, who had won the past three county titles, welcomed the return of 2004 county champion Sergiy Zubko (ninth, 17:58.28) from a knee injury, but they placed third with 67 points.

No. 9 Atholton earned second place with 64 points, thanks to junior Andrew Revelle's victory in 17:02.47.

"Counties is almost as big as states," said Revelle, the defending Class 2A state titlist. "This is a great county for running, and this win means a lot to me."

For the third straight year, the girls individual crown went to Atholton junior Alison Smith, who joined River Hill's Lee McDuff as the county's only three-time champions.

"I really want to win four," said Smith, whose time was 19:29.90.

In the girls team competition, No. 4 River Hill took the title for the fifth time in the last eight seasons. The Hawks accumulated 42 points with the help of freshman Katie Harman (second, 19:47.20), senior Bess Seelaus (sixth, 21:06.79), sophomore Meghan Yi (seventh, 21:10.80), freshman Alisha Seelaus (11th, 21:41.45) and freshman Jamie Scott (16th, 22:18.96).

Carroll County championships -- The unranked Liberty boys team stunned No. 6 Westminster and No. 10 Francis Scott Key to repeat as the titlist at McDaniel College in Westminster. The Lions relied on the efforts of senior Jim Ridder (second, 17:03), sophomore Eric Liberatore (fifth, 17:21), freshman Andrew Cross (sixth, 17:22), sophomore Pat Dougherty (ninth, 17:43) and senior Rush Lester (12th, 17:45) to edge Westminster, winner of 23 championships, by a 34-36 score. Francis Scott Key junior Jared Welsh claimed the boys individual crown in 16:52. The girls results were somewhat more routine as No. 7 Westminster and North Carroll junior Katie Hursey lived up to their pre-race billings. Hursey took the individual crown in 18:38. The Owls beat Century, 54-75, thanks to sophomore Allison Eaton (second, 20:18), senior Lindsay Southworth (10th, 20:56), freshman Casey Haddaway (11th, 20:58), freshman Ali Thompson (13th, 21:10) and freshman Megan Cyhanich (18th, 21:29).

Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland championships -- Notre Dame Prep and Seton Keough captured the A and B Conference titles, respectively, at Oregon Ridge Park. The Blazers secured the A Conference off the showings of Julianna Rubino (sixth, 20:23), Liz Schiavone (seventh, 20:40), Charlotte Healy (13th, 21:18), Kaitlin Bulavinetz (17th, 21:33) and Mary Bolgiano (21st, 21:48) to defeat runner-up Archbishop Spalding, 64-72. The Gators beat No. 10 John Carroll, 37-50, for the B title with the help of Katie Sacker (fourth, 20:13), Megan McQuillan (fifth, 20:24), Lindsay Wilson (eighth, 20:44), Alyssa Doyle (ninth, 20:46) and Colleen Shea (11th, 21:04). The individual titles went to Bryn Mawr senior Christy Johnson (18:30) in the A race and John Carroll junior Brittany Furst (19:18) in the B.

Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference championships -- C. Milton Wright took home three of the four titles at Gunpowder State Park. Mustangs sophomore Sara Bailey captured the girls individual crown in 18:55. The efforts of senior Megan Ravenscraft (second, 19:01), sophomore Lindsay Lippencott (fourth, 19:41), senior Danielle Burcham (fifth, 19:50) and sophomore Lindsay Carpentar (seventh, 20:07) led No. 3 C. Milton Wright to 19 points and the girls team crown. The Mustangs boys team grabbed the team crown with 45 points thanks to junior Matt Provonche (third, 16:38), senior Pete Houlihan (seventh, 16:52), senior Mike Disney (eighth, 16:58), junior David Wells (13th, 17:25) and sophomore Chris Disney (14th, 17:38). Bel Air junior Andrew Mahone won the boys individual title in 16:22. edward.lee@baltsun.com

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.