R. Hill upsets Mount Hebron

Fall sports

High Schools

October 19, 2005|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Lexy Doerr's goal five minutes into double overtime gave River Hill a 1-0 upset of No. 2 Mount Hebron yesterday in a Howard County field hockey game.

The host Vikings (12-1) lost their first game of the season despite controlling the tempo of the game and 16 penalty corners.

"I'm just so proud of our defense," said coach Shelly Chamness, whose Hawks improved to 8-4-1. Goalkeeper Courtney Case had 16 saves.

More field hockey

No. 1 Severna Park 4, Annapolis 1 -- Hayley Rausch, the area's leading goal-scorer, scored twice for the top-ranked Falcons (12-1).

No. 6 St. Paul's 2, Notre Dame Prep 0 -- Grace Gavin scored both goals for the host Gators (9-3).

No. 7 South River 2, No. 10 Broadneck 2 -- Lindsay Pawley's goal with 50 seconds left sent the game into overtime for the host Bruins (10-1-1) before the game was called because of darkness. The Seahawks moved to 10-2-1.

Boys soccer

No. 6 Fallston 2, Bel Air 1 -- Phil Bisker scored on a pass from Andy Stromberg in the second overtime to keep the visiting Cougars (12-0) undefeated. Bisker also scored the game-tying goal in the second half off an assist by Chris Heckler. The Bobcats fell to 6-6.

Girls soccer

No. 4 Centennial 2, Oakland Mills 1 -- Danielle Rosanova scored the game-winner for the host Eagles (9-1-1) on a penalty kick early in the second half.

No. 8 Glenelg 1, Atholton 0 -- Allison Novak scored 15 minutes into the first half for the host Gladiators (8-3).


No. 3 Broadneck 3, No. 9 South River 2 -- Ali Nalesich had 12 kills and four blocks as the host Bruins (7-2) beat the Seahawks, 25-23, 23-25, 25-15, 22-25, 15-12.

No. 11 Mount de Sales 3, Institute of Notre Dame 0 -- Kristina Mercier (six kills), Kelsey Schiuth (seven kills) and Kelly Nevin (five aces) led the host Sailors past the Indians, 25-10, 25-17, 25-11.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.