Old Mill's Callahan nearing county TD record


September 21, 2005|By Pat O'Malley | Pat O'Malley,Sun reporter

Ryan Callahan of Old Mill is on the verge of becoming Anne Arundel County's all-time leader in touchdowns. If he has a senior season that approaches what he did as a junior, he also could become the state's leader in touchdowns.

A number of rushing records are also within his grasp.

Callahan, a 5-foot-7, 150-pound runner with sprinter's speed who was an All-Metro pick as a junior and The Sun's Anne Arundel County Offensive Player of the Year, has 60 touchdowns entering Friday's game at Meade (0-2).

With seven touchdowns in his first two games for the No. 4 Patriots (2-0), Callahan owns the county public school record for career touchdowns after tying the mark of 53 by Eric Venerable of Annapolis (2000-2001) at the end of last season.

The Anne Arundel County record is 65 by Severn's Dennard Melton (1994-1997), and the state record is 86 by Eastern Tech's Dietrich Wright (2000-2003).

Last fall, Callahan set county single-season records for total touchdowns (36), rushing touchdowns (35), total points (216) and rushing yards (2,396). With eight regular-season games left and the likelihood of at least one playoff game, Callahan would need 27 touchdowns to set the state record for career scores.

Callahan also rushed for 3,200 yards in his first two seasons (804 as a sophomore with 17 touchdowns) and has gained 358 yards in his first two games this season for a total of 3,558, eclipsing the school record of 3,547 by Kelvin Collins (1999-2000).

The county record for career rushing yards is 4,044 by Rayvon Johnson of Annapolis (1998-1999). Callahan needs only 487 yards in his last eight games to break Johnson's career rushing record. Callahan has averaged 148.3 yards per game in his career.

South River gets a lift

Chris Moody, who along with Robert Wetzel and others, would have given Archbishop Spalding a solid chance of defending its Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference title in cross country, has transferred to South River.

Cavaliers coach Andy Witte declined to discuss the reasons Moody made the move to Edgewater last week, but wished him luck.

Last week, Moody finished second to Wetzel in the prestigious Spiked Shoe Invitational at Johns Hopkins University with a time of 17 minutes, 34 seconds to Wetzel's 17:00, as the Cavaliers won the boys team title.

New coaches

Anne Arundel County has three new head football coaches and two former head coaches now assisting at Southern.

Mike Clay (St. Mary's), Tony Werner (Severn) and Steve Erxleben (South River) are the new head coaches.

Former Annapolis coach Roy Brown (103-47, 14 seasons) and former Brooklyn Park/South River coach Dave Summey (100-111, 21) are assisting Russ Meyers at Southern. Meyers, whose Bulldogs are 1-1, is not worried about having too many chiefs.

Also, Tom Kraning (52-98, 15) is an assistant to his former player, Mike Clay, at St. Mary's.

Off the field

Larry Sells, the new president of the Severna Park High School Falcon Athletic Boosters, has things jumping. The new Andy Borland Field House soon will be used by the athletes and coaches. Borland spent nearly 40 years at the school as a coach and athletic director. To get involved, call Sells at 410-987-6239. ...

Villanova men's basketball coach Jay Wright will speak to local high school and recreation-league coaches at the Sure Shots gym in Lansdowne on Oct. 8 in a clinic sponsored by Leadership Through Athletics. For more information, call Dawn Wade at 410-737-2117.


Here are a couple of the county's top student-athletes: Broadneck's David Yarbrough (football and baseball), has a 4.29 grade point average, 1,910 SAT and is ranked 16th in a senior class of 579; Chesapeake's Amanda Spinnenweber (basketball and lacrosse), has a 3.84GPA, 1,524 SAT and is ranked 31st in a senior class of 424.


Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.