For some Terps, scrimmage will tell tale

Friedgen: `Lot' of jobs on line in final session

College Football

August 25, 2005|By Heather A. Dinich | Heather A. Dinich,SUN STAFF

COLLEGE PARK -- The final audition for some spots in the Maryland football team's starting lineup will be held this afternoon in the Terps' final scrimmage before the Sept. 3 season opener against Navy at M&T Bank Stadium.

"Certain guys are going to make the team, but there are a lot of other positions, especially second-team positions and even some first-team positions that are going to be decided on by the scrimmage," Terps coach Ralph Friedgen said.

"[The last day of camp, tomorrow] is always a tough day at camp. Last year, I had two kids quit. They didn't even come in and see me. One is starting this year; the other is not here."

Friedgen said he will name either Edwin Williams or Ryan McDonald as the starting center. J.J. Justice, who had been at free safety, could earn the starting nod ahead of Milton Harris at strong safety. There is still tight competition at running back, but Friedgen has been impressed recently by senior Mario Merrills.

One position that remains too close to call is kicker. Friedgen said the choice of either Dan Ennis or Obi Egekeze could be a game-time decision and it's possible one will kick long field goals and the other shorter-range attempts.

The scrimmage will be closed to the public and media.

NOTES: Cornerback Josh Wilson, who sustained a bone-deep gash in his right shin in a collision, returned to practice yesterday. ... Freshman receiver Darrius Heyward-Bey, who injured his left wrist during practice Tuesday and had a magnetic resonance imaging done yesterday, sprained his left ankle during afternoon practice yesterday. ... Fullback Ricardo Dickerson (sprained left knee) returned to practice after missing more than a week.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.