For The Record

August 16, 2005


Auto racing

RICHARD CHILDRESS RACING (NASCAR): Named Scott Miller crew chief of No. 07 Nextel Cup series Chevrolet driven by Dave Blaney.


GIANTS: Activated former Orioles P Armando Benitez from 60-day DL. Sent P Brian Cooper outright to Triple-A Fresno.

MARINERS: Optioned C Wiki Gonzalez to Triple-A Tacoma. Recalled OF Jamal Strong and C Miguel Ojeda from Tacoma.

PADRES: Placed SS Khalil Greene on 15-day DL with non-displaced fracture of his left big toe. Purchased contract of SS Wilson Valdez from Triple-A Portland.

ROCKIES: Transferred P Dan Miceli to 60-day DL.

TIGERS: Placed OF Rondell White on 15-day DL with dislocated shoulder. Recalled OF Curtis Granderson from Triple-A Toledo.

WHITE SOX: Placed OF Scott Podsednik on 15-day DL, retroactive to Saturday, with strained left adductor. Purchased contract of OF Brian Anderson from Triple-A Charlotte.

YANKEES: Activated P Jaret Wright from 60-day DL. Optioned P Wayne Franklin (North East, UMBC) to Triple-A Columbus.


BUCKS: Designated contract of C Calvin Booth for luxury tax relief under NBA's amnesty provision.

BULLS: Matched Raptors' contract offer to G Chris Duhon.

HEAT: Signed G Matt Walsh. Designated contract of F Wesley Person for luxury tax relief.

KNICKS: Designated contract of F Jerome Williams for luxury tax relief.

MAVERICKS: Designated contract of G-F Michael Finley for luxury tax relief. Re-signed G Darrell Armstrong.

NETS: Designated contract of G Ron Mercer for luxury tax relief.

PACERS: Designated contract of G Reggie Miller for luxury tax relief.

RAPTORS: Designated contract of C Alonzo Mourning for luxury tax relief.

ROCKETS: Designated contract of F Clarence Weatherspoon for luxury tax relief.

76ERS: Named Doug Overton director of player development.

TIMBERWOLVES: Designated contract of G Fred Hoiberg for luxury tax relief.


ANDERSON, IND.: Named former Ravens FB Roosevelt Potts assistant football coach and academic coordinator.

CLEMSON: Announced that men's basketball F Cheyenne Moore, who attended West Nottingham Academy in Cecil County, will transfer.

MOUNT ST. MARY'S: Named Robbie Turner women's basketball assistant coach.

UTAH: Announced that men's basketball G-F Richard Chaney plans to transfer to Indiana.

WASHINGTON COLLEGE: Named Greg Baker (Class of 1985), Peter Boggs ('72), Holly Bramble ('74), Rene Duvall ('62), Dave Marshall ('88), Bob Martino ('90), Bob Reck ('63) and Fred Wyman to Hall of Fame class.


BEARS: Signed DT Antonio Garay to two-year contract. Waived WR Derek Lee and DL Jonathan Jackson.

CHARGERS: Waived FB Matthew Tant.

DOLPHINS: Signed RB Ronnie Brown, second overall draft pick, to multi-year contract. Released S Deveron Harper.

PATRIOTS: Signed DL Ifo Pili. Placed LB Ryan Claridge on IR.

REDSKINS: Waived OL Adrian Gonzalez.

VIKINGS: Released LB Quincy Stewart.


BLACKHAWKS: Named Dan Jansen skating coach.

CANADIENS: Signed F Saku Koivu and LW Marcel Hossa to one-year contracts.

CAPITALS: Re-signed C Jeff Halpern, C Brian Sutherby, C Graham Mink, RW Stephen Peat, RW Brian Willsie, D Brandon Witt, D Steve Eminger, D Shaone Morrisonn, D Nolan Yonkman and G Maxime Ouellet.

HURRICANES: Signed W Pavel Brendl and D Bruno St. Jacques to one-year qualifying offers.

KINGS: Agreed to multi-year contract with F Jeff Tambellini.

PENGUINS: Signed F John LeClair, who had been with Flyers, and F Steve Poapst, who had been with Blackhawks.

RANGERS: Signed D Steven MacIntyre. Re-signed D Tom Poti.

SABRES: Re-signed C Jochen Hecht to three-year contract.

SENATORS: Signed F Chris Kelly and F Brian McGrattan.

SHARKS: Re-signed C Patrick Marleau, LW Marco Sturm and D Brad Stuart to multi-year contracts.

STARS: Re-signed F Jason Arnott. Signed LW Garrett Burnett, who had been with Mighty Ducks, and RW Mike Siklenka to one-year contracts.

WILD: Signed D Daniel Tjarnqvist, who had been with Thrashers, to one-year contract.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.