Education Notes


Education Beat

News from Anne Arundel County schools and colleges

July 17, 2005

School board member gets national PTA seat

Anne Arundel County school board member Eugene Peterson recently was elected to serve as member representative of the board of directors of the National Parent Teacher Association.

Peterson got more than 800 votes from the approximately 1,100 delegates to the organization's annual convention last month in Columbus, Ohio. He was elected to a two-year term for one of five seats on the board.

Peterson, a Laurel resident, was appointed to a five-year term on the county school board in July 2002, representing District 32.

Business group chapter installs new officers

The Anne Arundel Community College student chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals recently installed officers for 2005-2006.

Mary Lee Seaman, president of the Delaware-Maryland-District of Columbia division of IAAP, installed Rebecca Baker of Crownsville as president, Deborah Jackson of Glen Burnie as vice president, Jessica Ward of Crofton as treasurer and Marian Rankine of Crownsville as secretary. All graduated in May from the college's business support specialist program.

The student IAAP chapter is open to all students enrolled in at least one business curriculum class at the college. It provides an opportunity for students to prepare themselves for the business world, network with students and professionals, and seek excellence in their future careers.

AACC's phone number will change Aug. 1

Starting Aug. 1, Anne Arundel Community College's general information phone number will change to 410-777-2222. The new number will debut at the same time as the college's switch to a new automated answering system that carries a more detailed menu of information options for callers.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.