Letters To The Editor


July 10, 2005

Volunteers produced great July 4th parade

On behalf of the Bel Air Independence Day Committee Inc., I wish to thank the greater Bel Air community for its response to the 2005 Bel Air Independence Day Parade.

Buoyed by the most beautiful, perfect and appropriate weather in years, the large, enthusiastic crowds were well-behaved, appreciative, good-humored and very much in the spirit of our country's wonderful and patriotic holiday.

I wish especially to thank the Town of Bel Air Commissioners and Town Administrator Christopher Schlehr; Police Chief Leo Matrangola; Deputy Chief Norman Ross; and Town of Bel Air Public Works personnel, without whom the parade never could have flourished.

I also send our grateful appreciation to the residents of Shamrock, especially those living on Lee Street, Lee Way, Hickory Avenue, McCormick Street, Pennsylvania Avenue and Dublin Way, who kindly allowed us to use their streets for marshaling the parade.

Many thanks go to our Parade Marshals and Parade Staff, including, Aaron Cahal, Alex White, Craig White, Amanda Pugh, Steve Pugh, Annette Blum, Robby Blum, Laura Blum, Barry Williams, Bill Smith, Brian Reid, Debbie Reid, Brittany Cassell, Chuck Egender, David Williams, Elizabeth Bernier, Evan Bernier, Dennis Nasuta, Gary Nasuta, Mollie Nasuta, Greg Cooper, Ian Cook and Nick Cook.

Also, Jack Deal, Jill Torin, Janet Leedy, Lindsey Leedy, John Cubbage, Kelly Miller, Kurt Crabtree, Liz Weigl, Tom Weigl, Mark Schultz, Mike Freeze, Mary Dean, Matt Heidenreich, Ray Dumbrowski, Roger Staso, Roy Clark, Samson Robinson, Samson Robinson Jr., and Sophie Wittelsberger; videographer Dan Rappazzo; plus anyone I may have unintentionally omitted.

You worked hard for hours, coped with every challenge, kept your good humor and your spirit, and the success of the parade is due to your unflagging efforts.

Mary Dean and the David Williams family did a wonderful job decorating the reviewing stand. Communications were ably handled by Larry Leedy.

Thanks also to the Boy Scout Troop 564, the Bel Air High School Bobcats Football Team and the Fountain Green Swim Club, our flag-givers and banner carriers.

M&T Bank, led by Deborah Williams, came through as our parade flag sponsor. Don Morrison of the Harford County Board of Education did a wonderful job again, narrating the parade from the reviewing stand.

My personal thanks, for excellence beyond the call of duty, goes to Janet Leedy, Sophie Wittelsberger, Laura Blum and Jack Deal; you dealt with some of the most interesting challenges of parade staging and deployment.

Thanks also go to the Bel Air Volunteer Fire Company Inc., and especially to Assistant Chief Bill Snyder. Our judges (who choose to remain anonymous) did their usual fine work.

And finally, I'd like to personally thank Don Stewart, 2005 President of the Bel Air Independence Day Committee Inc., for his diligence and thoughtfulness.

See you all in 2006!

Michael Blum

Parade chairman and vice president, Bel Air Independence Day Committee Inc.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.