Principals are appointed for seven county schools

Education Beat

News from Howard County schools and colleges


The Howard County school system has announced new principals for seven schools for the coming year.

Marcy Leonard, assistant principal at Wilde Lake High School, will become principal at Atholton High School in Columbia. Leonard will replace Connie Lewis, who is retiring after 30 years in Howard County.

Steven Gibson is returning from leave to replace Principal Barbara Hoffmann at Burleigh Manor Middle School. Hofmann is retiring after 27 years.

Other moves include:

Murray Hill Middle Assistant Principal Scott Conroy, will become principal of Wilde Lake Middle.

Wilde Lake Middle Principal Brenda Thomas will be the principal of Lime Kiln Middle.

JoAnn Hutchens, assistant principal at Clarksville Middle School, will become the principal there.

Also, two acting principals were named permanently to their positions: Heidi Balter at Rockburn Elementary and Cherolyn Jones at Dunloggin Middle.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.