All - County Boys Lacrosse


June 10, 2005|By Rich Scherr

Player of the Year

Adam VanLeeuwen, Westminster

VanLeeuwen was the county's best shut-down defender, helping Westminster finish 15-1 and hold opponents to under three goals a game.

The three-year starter always covered the opposing team's top attackman, and most often left him walking away shaking his head.

VanLeeuwen will continue his career at Mount St. Mary's.

Coach of the Year

Jim Peters, Westminster

Peters' Owls allowed an average of just 2.9 goals in starting the season 15-0, six times holding opponents to a goal or less.

That defense helped Westminster capture Carroll County, Monocacy Valley Athletic League Eastern Division and Class 4A-3A North titles, and earn a trip to the state semifinals.

In his 24 years at the helm, Peters has compiled a 188-135 mark, including a 61-4 record over the past four seasons.

First team

Name School Cl Pos

Zach Devilbiss F.S. Key Sr. A

Brandon Johnson Westminster Sr. A

Matt Latham Liberty Jr. A

Ryan Finch Westminster Jr. M

Dan Geary South Carroll Jr. M

Cameron White F.S. Key Jr. M

Payton Zeher Liberty Sr. M

Nate Eyler F.S. Key Jr. D

Kevin Hinton Liberty Jr. D

Steve Mersinger Westminster Sr. D

Adam VanLeeuwen Westminster Sr. D

Chris Collins Westminster Jr. G

Second team

Name School Cl Pos

Jimmy Daily Winters Mill Jr. A

Eric Evans North Carroll Jr. A

Jake Larrimore Winters Mill Sr. A

Jeff Ziegler F.S. Key Sr. A

Jason Bartee South Carroll Jr. M

Nick Leech Winters Mill Jr. M

Mike Lewis South Carroll Jr. M

Mike McCormick Liberty Sr. M

Ben Brewer F.S. Key Jr. D

Jeff Cumberland South Carroll Jr. D

Dustin Walters Liberty Sr. D

Josh Stewart F.S. Key So. G

Note: Teams selected by Rich Scherr after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.