For The Record

April 30, 2005



MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL: Suspended Red Sox manager Terry Francona and Devil Rays manager Lou Piniella three games each and fined them an undisclosed amount for inappropriate actions of their clubs during Sunday's game. Suspended Red Sox P Bronson Arroyo six games, Devil Rays P Dewon Brazelton and P Lance Carter five games and Red Sox OF Trot Nixon two games, and fined them undisclosed amounts for actions in the seventh inning of the game. Fined Red Sox DH David Ortiz and Devil Rays and former Orioles OF Chris Singleton undisclosed amounts for their actions. Suspended Dodgers P Eric Gagne two games and fined him an undisclosed amount for violating terms of an April 6 discipline that barred him from being in uniform and on bench or in bullpen during his stint on DL.

BREWERS: Placed P Ben Sheets on 15-day DL with viral infection. Purchased contract of P Julio Santana from Triple-A Nashville.

CARDINALS: Purchased contract of P Kevin Jarvis from Triple-A Memphis. Optioned IF Hector Luna to Memphis.

NATIONALS: Exercised 2006 contract option on OF Jose Guillen.

RED SOX: Placed P Curt Schilling on 15-day DL. Recalled P Tim Bausher from Triple-A Pawtucket.


NBA: Suspended Celtics F Antoine Walker one game without pay for making contact with an official in Thursday's game. Fined Pacers F Jermaine O'Neal $10,000 for his role in altercation in Thursday's game.

FEVER (WNBA): Waived G Edniesha Curry.

SILVER STARS (WNBA): Signed C Chen Nan. Re-signed F Adrian Williams.

STORM (WNBA): Announced retirement of G Adrienne Johnson.


JETS: Signed K Xavier Beitia, LB Mondoe Davis, LB Dennis Haley, WR Eddie Jackson, OL Michael King, FB Austine Nwabuisi, LB John Pickens, OL Isaac Snell, T Henry Tellis and WR Jovan Witherspoon.

PATRIOTS: Signed QB Doug Flutie to one-year contract, and RB DeCori Birmingham, C Travis Conway, FB Kyle Eckel, K Robbie Gould, G Ryan Krug, OT Mike Lorenz, FB Matt Phillips, LB Andre Torrey, S Raymond Ventrone and DL Mike Wright.

RAVENS: Signed TE Rob Abiamiri (Maryland), OT Lester Brown (Louisiana Tech), DT Joe Clay (Houston), DE Walter Curry (Albany State), QB Darian Durant (North Carolina), DE Gary Gibson (Rutgers), DE Patrick Goodpaster (Colorado State), OT Phil Hawkins (Houston), S Jarvis Johnson (Rutgers), LS Matt Katula (Wisconsin), OL Robin Knebel (Oregon), P Rhys Lloyd (Minnesota), WR Tommy Manus (Morgan State), CB Cash Mouton (Lousiana-Monroe), LB Matt Sinclair (Illinois), LB Tyson Smith (Iowa State) and WR Curtis Williams (Maryland).



Named Force's Omid Namazi Coach of Year.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.