Education Notes


Education Beat

News from Anne Arundel County schools and colleges

March 13, 2005

USA Today honors Midshipman Thompson

Midshipman 1st Class Trevor Thompson was recently selected for the USA Today All Academic First Team 2005, a competition honoring 20 college students from around the nation who excel in academics and leadership.

Thompson is the first in his class in overall order of merit and is the founder of a service program at the Naval Academy that will take midshipmen to Nicaragua each summer. He has been selected to attend the University of Oxford in England as a Rhodes scholar. Thompson is captain of Navy's varsity baseball team and has served as a moderator of the Naval Academy Foreign Affairs Conference.

Essay contest focuses on peacemakers

The Peace Action chapters in Anne Arundel and Montgomery counties, the Maryland Peace Action Education Fund and the Benjamin Peace Foundation are sponsoring a writing contest for Maryland middle school pupils.

The contest is open to all seventh- and eighth-graders. Cash prizes will be awarded: $300 for first place, $200 for second and $100 for third.

Entrants must submit an essay of up to 1,200 words on the following topic: Inventor Alfred B. Nobel established a monetary prize for people who are judged to have benefited humankind in the promotion of peace. Who do you feel is the most worthy of receiving the Nobel Peace Prize and why? A list and description of all recipients is at

Entries must be doubled-spaced on a word processor or typewriter. The essay must include a cover sheet with the student's name, address and phone number or e-mail address; school's name, address and phone number; and the name of the teacher sponsoring the student, if applicable. Entries must be postmarked no later than May 15, and mailed to Peace Writing Contest, 310 Riverview Ave., Annapolis 21403-3328. 410-263-7409.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.