February 24, 2005



ASTROS: Agreed to one-year contracts with P Juan Gutierrez and P Fernando Nieve.

BREWERS: Agreed to one-year contracts with IF Lyle Overbay, IF Bill Hall and P Ben Hendrickson.

CUBS: Announced that they will retire Ryne Sandberg's No. 23 in ceremony before Aug. 28 game.

NATIONALS: Agreed to terms with P Chad Cordero.

ORIOLES: Announced that OF Matt Diaz has chosen to become free agent.

PADRES: Agreed to minor league deals with free-agent P Andy Ashby and IF-OF Robert Fick.


BOBCATS: Placed G Steve Smith on injured list with right knee tendinitis. Signed G Matt Carroll.

JAZZ: Placed G Raul Lopez on injured list with left knee injury. Activated G Keith McLeod.

MAVERICKS: Placed C Erick Dampier on injured list with stress fracture in right foot. Activated C D.J. Mbenga from injured list.

NUGGETS: Named Doug Moe assistant coach. Announced that Michael Cooper will be reassigned.

76ERS: Acquired F Chris Webber, F Michael Bradley and F Matt Barnes from Kings for F Kenny Thomas, F Corliss Williamson and F Brian Skinner.

SPURS: Placed F-C Sean Marks on injured list with sprained left foot. Activated G Mike Wilks.

TRAIL BLAZERS: Activated F Shareef Abdur-Rahim. Placed G Derek Anderson on injured list with back spasms.

WARRIORS: Activated F Troy Murphy. Placed G Luis Flores on injured list with strained right hamstring.

WIZARDS: Placed G Juan Dixon (Maryland, Calvert Hall) on injured list with right ankle sprain. Placed C Peter John Ramos on injured list with right plantar fasciitis. Activated F-C Kwame Brown and G Larry Hughes from injured list.

STORM (WNBA): Re-signed F Lauren Jackson.


ESPN: Announced extension of contract for ACC-Big Ten Challenge in men's basketball through 2010.

BOWIE STATE: CIAA named C-F Lee Cook men's basketball Player of the Year and G Allyson Hardy women's basketball Player of the Year; named Cook and G Kevin Bell to men's all-conference first team; named Hardy and F Rachill Robinson to women's all-conference first team.

JOHNS HOPKINS: Centennial Conference named F Eric Toback (Mount Hebron) to men's basketball all-conference first team; named F Ashanna Randall to women's basketball all-conference first team and G Ashley Felix to second team.

MARYLAND: Announced that swimmer Megan Knepper and volleyball player Katayoon Shahrokh will receive Weaver-James-Corrigan Awards and baseball OF Justin Maxwell will receive Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award.

SETON HALL: Suspended men's basketball F Kelly Whitney for violation of team rules.

U. OF WASHINGTON: Named Bob Simmons special teams coordinator.


COWBOYS: Signed free-agent QB Drew Bledsoe, who had been with Bills.

DOLPHINS: Released QB Jay Fiedler, DE Jay Williams, S Arturo Freeman and S Shawn Wooden.

EAGLES: Tendered restricted free-agent RB Brian Westbrook.

FALCONS: Announced that offensive line coach Alex Gibbs will become consultant. Named Clancy Barone tight ends coach and Jeff Jagodzinski assistant head coach and offensive line coach.

PATRIOTS: Named Joel Collier assistant secondary coach and Harold Nash assistant strength and conditioning coach. Released DB Earthwind Moreland, DL Buck Rasmussen, G Wilbert Brown and TE Zeron Flemister.

SEAHAWKS: Named Tim Ruskell president of football operations and GM.Pro soccer

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.