Meet the Band: Secret Crush Society

February 03, 2005|By Annie Linskey

Hometown: Baltimore

Current members: Holly Morgan, drums; Joey Grey, guitar; Tanya Taylor, bass; Lisa Harbin, vocals.

Founded in: 2003

Style: Punk rock with pop sensibilities.

Influenced by: '70s punk rock, X-Ray Spex, Pretenders.

Notable: The group's first record, Baltimore Chapter, will be released tomorrow under the label Atomic Twang (the same Hampden crew that brings us Atomic Books).

Quotable: Lisa Harbin on the band's style. "We embrace our goofy. Our songs, although there are serious ones about serious issues - some of them are about non-issues." Subjects include their dogs and cute boys on the boardwalk.

Check out Secret Crush Society at its CD release party tomorrow at the Ottobar. Chester Stacy, Trixie Little and the Twin Six are also billed. Doors open at 8 p.m., and the music starts at 9 p.m. for this all-ages show. Tickets are $7. The Ottobar is at 2549 N. Howard St. For more information, call 410-662-0069 or visit

For more information about the band visit

- Annie Linskey

To see the archive of profiled artists, visit

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.