February 02, 2005



DEVIL RAYS: Agreed to one-year, $600,000 contract with P Jesus Colome, avoiding salary arbitration.

RED SOX: Agreed to minor league contracts with P Scott Cassidy, P Jack Cressend, P Jeremi Gonzalez, P Kris Wilson, P Jason Kershner, C Jeff Bailey, C Shawn Wooten, IF Dave Berg, IF Tim Hummel, IF Kenny Perez, OF Chip Ambres, OF George Lombard, OF Billy McMillon, OF Simon Pond and OF Chip Ambres.


NBA: Suspended Warriors F Clifford Robinson five games for violating league's drug policy.

BOBCATS: Activated C Jahidi White and F Theron Smith from injured list. Placed F Emeka Okafor (sprained left ankle) and G Bernard Robinson (tendinitis in right knee) on injured list.

CAVALIERS: Signed F Jerome Moiso to 10-day contract.

JAZZ: Activated G Kirk Snyder from injured list.

KINGS: Exercised 2005-06 contract option on coach Rick Adelman.

MAVERICKS: Activated G Marquis Daniels from injured list. Placed C D.J. Mbenga on injured list with strained right hamstring.

NETS: Placed F Richard Jefferson on injured list with ruptured ligament in left wrist. Placed G Rodney Buford on injured list with torn ligaments in left ankle. Placed F Brian Scalabrine on injured list with bruised left knee. Activated G Zoran Planinic and G Ron Mercer from injured list. Signed F Donnell Harvey to 10-day contract.


FLORIDA STATE: Named Mark McHale offensive line coach.

UMBC: Named Cathy Jo Dedrick assistant AD for business and finance. ... America East named Agnes Stanislawska women's swimming Performer of the Week.

NAVY: Patriot League named Katie Griffin (Seton Keough) Diver of the Week.

PROVIDENCE: Announced that sophomore G Gerald Brown has left men's basketball team for personal reasons.

ST. JOHN'S: Named Chris Monasch AD.

ST. MARY'S: CAC named Jacqueline Genau (Annapolis) women's Swimmer of the Week.

TENNESSEE: Signed football coach Phillip Fulmer to one-year contract extension.

TEXAS CHRISTIAN: Announced that men's track team will not participate in 2005 NCAA indoor or outdoor championships and has reduced scholarships and on-campus recruiting visits in response to continuing NCAA investigation.

TOWSON: ECAC named Christina Ghani Gymnast of the Week and Decelia Willacy Rookie Gymnast of the Week.


COURT OF ARBITRATION FOR SPORT: Overturned decision by International Cycling Union to deny racing license to Swiss team Phonak.


AFC: Added Patriots LB Tedy Bruschi to Pro Bowl roster for the first time, replacing injured Ravens LB Ray Lewis.

NFC: Added Panthers LB Mark Fields to Pro Bowl as first alternate, replacing injured Buccaneers LB Derrick Brooks.

THE SPORTING NEWS: Named Colts QB Peyton Manning NFL Player of the Year, the Steelers' Bill Cowher Coach of the Year and Steelers QB Ben Roethlisberger Rookie of the Year.

BRONCOS: Named Bob Slowik defensive backs coach.

CHIEFS: Signed WR John Booth, WR Jeris McIntyre, S Eddie Canonico, S Scott Connot, S Eric Crouch, S Chazz Moore, QB Casey Clausen, FB Joe Hall, G Aaron Johnson, G Matt Miller, LB Rich Scanlon, RB Jonathan Smith and DE Demetrios Walker.

STEELERS: Signed LB Matt Farrior, T Josh Burr, FB Darryl Kennedy, S Janssen Patten, C Joe Iorio, LB Lewis Moore, WR Sam Simmons, FB Travis Wilson, QB Jeff Krohn, WR Chris Collins, WR Walter Young, TE John Frieser, C Ben Claxton, G Lenny Vandermade, T Ulish Booker, CB Vontez Duff, LB Dedrick Roper, DE Brandon Calton, DT Grant Bowman, DT Bob Dzvonick, DT Eric Taylor and P Mike Barr.

NEW YORK (ARENA): Signed WR-LB Latrez Harrison (Maryland) to practice squad.


EARTHQUAKES (MLS): Re-signed D Troy Dayak.

FIRE (MLS): Signed D Samuel Caballero.

GALAXY (MLS): Named Billy McNicol assistant coach and coach of reserve team.

METROSTARS (MLS): Traded D Eddie Pope to Real Salt Lake for an allocation and future considerations.

RAPIDS (MLS): Signed M Chris Henderson to multi-year contract.

Track and field

IAAF: Suspended European 1,500-meter champion Sureyya Ayhan of Turkey two years for drug-test violation.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.