February 01, 2005



CARDINALS: Named Ron Warner manager and Derrick May hitting coach of Single-A Palm Beach. Named Keith Mitchell hitting coach of double-A Quad Cities.

DEVIL RAYS: Agreed to terms with P Jason Hammel, P Angel Garcia and P Carlos Hines on one-year contracts.

MARINERS: Signed free-agent P Jeff Nelson, who had been with Rangers, to minor league contract with invitation to spring training.

METS: Signed P Scott Stewart to minor league contract with invitation to spring training. Signed P Eric Junge and IF Jed Hansen to minor league contracts.

TIGERS: Signed P Roberto Novoa, P Fernando Rodney, P Mark Woodyard, 2B Ryan Raburn, OF Byron Gettis and OF Curtis Granderson to one-year contracts.


HAWKS: Signed C Obinna Ekezie (Maryland) for remainder of season.

NETS: Signed G Billy Thomas to second 10-day contract.

SUPERSONICS: Waived G Ibrahim Kutluay. Activated G Mateen Cleaves.

TRAIL BLAZERS: Waived F James Thomas.


NCAA: Announced that it would not reinstate eligibility of Virginia Union basketball player Jonathan Hargett.

GOUCHER: Shadae Swan (St. Frances Academy) named Capital Athletic Conference women's basketball Co-Player of Week.

HAMPTON: Announced that women's basketball player LaKiesha Beard has left team for personal reasons.

LOYOLA-CHICAGO: Announced that men's basketball player Andre Knox has left team.

MONMOUTH: Announced resignation of women's basketball coach Jackie Devane. Named Michele Baxter interim women's basketball coach.

MOUNT ST. MARY'S: Tiffany Green named NEC women's basketball Rookie of Week.

OKLAHOMA STATE: Announced DL Brad Girtman has been dismissed for violating team policies.

ST. JOSEPH'S, LONG ISLAND: Fired women's basketball coach Dennis Case. Named Don Lizak interim women's basketball coach.

WASHINGTON COLLEGE: F Jonathan Webb named Centennial Conference Player of Week.


BILLS: Announced resignation of director of physical development Rusty Jones.

BRONCOS: Named Tim Brewster tight ends coach.

CHIEFS: Signed QB Casey Clausen, RB Ronnie Cruz, RB Jonathan Smith, FB Joe Hall, WR John Booth, WR Jeris McIntyre, S Eric Crouch, S Ed Canonico, DE Jabari Issa, DE Demertios Walker, G Aaron Johnson, G Matt Miller, CB Chazz Moore and DT Montique Sharpe.

49ERS: Named Jim Hostler quarterbacks coach.

TITANS: Named Ray Sherman wide receivers coach.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.