All-county Volleyball & Field Hockey

Field Hockey

December 17, 2004|By Jeff Seidel


Player of the Year

Laura Schnell, C.M. Wright

Schnell, a three-year starter for the Mustangs, finished with six goals and four assists this season and is headed to Towson to play next fall.

The midfielder always seemed to find a way to make the big plays and give the Mustangs a spark. "She'll be hard to replace," coach Carla Harward said.

Coach of the Year

Carla Harward, C.M. Wright

Harward helped the Mustangs rebound from a mid-season slump to finish in impressive style. They upset Fallston in the first round of the playoffs, and then knocked out Catonsville before beating Bel Air in the regional final. Severna Park then scored a controversial 3-2 win in the state semi- finals.

"I always said this team would take us far," Harward said. This was the farthest the Mustangs (9-7-1) have gone in Harward's eight years.

First team

Name School Cl P

Megan Joines North Harford Sr. F

Erin Sell Bel Air Sr. F

Kathless Tress Fallston So. F

Jamie Barlow John Carroll Sr. M

Corey Donohoe North Harford So. M

Laura Schnell C.M. Wright Sr. M

Ashleigh Shifflett Fallston Sr. M

Mary Waller C.M. Wright So. M

Krista Bupp Bel Air Jr. D

Kirsten Eberly C.M. Wright Sr. D

Lauren Greenberg C.M. Wright Sr. D

Maddie Goetz Fallston Sr. G

Second team

Name School Cl P

Caitlin Christ Bel Air Sr. F

Chelsea Ford John Carroll Jr. F

Megan Jackson Bel Air Sr. F

Megan Linkous North Harford So. F

Jenna McKnight Har. Christian Sr. F

Lindsey Mueller Fallston Sr. F

Trina Wilhelm Harford Tech Jr. F

Theresa Piccione C.M. Wright Sr. M

Kerri Taylor Edgewood Sr. M

Sara Reich North Harford Jr. D

Sarah Brockmeyer C.M. Wright Jr. G

Aubrey Meusel Harford Tech So. G

Note: Teams selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.