All-county Soccer - Girls

December 17, 2004|By Edward Lee

Player of the Year

Hayley Siegel, Centennial

After three years of weaving her way through defenses and posting highlight-reel performances, Siegel found herself matching up against double- and sometimes triple-teams this fall. That hardly mattered to the senior midfielder, who registered five goals and nine assists to pace the No. 5 Eagles (13-2-1) to their first Howard County championship since 1996.

Siegel finished her four-year career as a starter with 29 goals and 29 assists. A three-time county Player of the Year, Siegel will play at Santa Clara next fall. Coach of the YearStephanie Stoutenborough, Atholton

Seven of 11 players who graduated from last season's team were starters and another transferred to a private school. But that hardly fazed Stoutenborough and his players.

After an uneven regular season, Atholton plowed through the Class 2A South regional playoffs to make its first state tournament appearance.

First team

Name School Cl P

Rosie Goldberg Centennial Sr. F

Kate Nicholson Atholton So. F

Mandy Paizs Centennial Sr. F

Chelsea Godbout Reservoir So. M

Sarah Grady Mount Hebron Sr. M

Meghan Haspert Glenelg Sr. M

Whitney Rhodes River Hill Sr. M

Hayley Siegel Centennial Sr. M

Samantha Braun Glenelg Sr. D

Christina Cangelosi Mount Hebron Sr. D

Nikki Welch Wilde Lake Jr. D

Katy Hudson River Hill Sr. G

Second team

Name School Cl. P

Amanda Feaga Glenelg So. F

Ashley Myrick Wilde Lake Jr. F

Melinda Petre Atholton Sr. F

Christine Vidmar Reservoir Jr. F

Kathryn Lally Mount Hebron So. M

Erika Theisen River Hill So. M

Emily Wilson Howard Sr. M

Brittany Winstead Wilde Lake Sr. M

Alissa Bourne Glenelg So. D

Liz Csanady River Hill Sr. D

Danielle Rosanova Centennial Jr. D

Christa Puccio Reservoir Jr. G

Note: Teams selected by Edward Lee after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.