All-county Soccer

Baltimore City


December 17, 2004|By Lem Satterfield

Player of the Year

Shawn Houseknecht, Curley

The returning second-team All-Metro and first-team All-City pick led the Friars to a No. 7 ranking in The Sun and a berth in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference semifinals, where they lost, 1-0, to eventual runner-up Calvert Hall.

Houseknecht could shoot well with either foot, and was a balanced scorer, with 17 goals and 14 assists. He is considering a college career at either York, UMBC or Towson.

Coach of the Year

Jon Seal, Gilman

The first-year coach came over from rival McDonogh, where he was an assistant to Steve Nichols for eight years. At Gilman, he brought success and stability to a struggling program.

Seal's Greyhounds went 12-9-2 (8-7-1 in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference) after having posted a 3-10-3 record against conference rivals the previous season. Gilman earned its first MIAA A Conference playoff berth since 1995.

First team

Name School Cl P

Luciano Brunetti Poly Sr. F

Shawn Houseknecht Arch. Curley Sr. F

Lemuel Lyons Patterson Sr. F

Will Schoeberlein Gilman Sr. F

Matt Liska Arch. Curley Jr. M

Paul Stack Gilman Sr. M

Joseph Toto Arch. Curley Sr. M

Matt Ward Arch. Curley Sr. M

Tauren Kagwima Gilman Sr. D

Eric Mullins Mt. St. Joseph Jr. D

Vince Savarese Arch. Curley Sr. D

Steven King Arch. Curley Sr. G

Second team

Name School Cl P

Randall Cooper Friends Sr. F

Maxx Davis Friends Jr. F

Tom Guarino Greater Grace Fr. F

Ryan Krueger Card. Gibbons Sr. F

Ben Pfau Mt. St. Joseph Jr. F

Josh Robbins Greater Grace Sr. M

Tyler Yanosky Greater Grace Jr. M

Joe Norton Mt. St. Joseph Sr. D

Tom Reagan Greater Grace Sr. D

Matthew Robinson Patterson Sr. D

Will Frew Gilman Jr. G

Tim Rosen Card. Gibbons Sr. G

Note: Teams selected by Lem Satterfield after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.