Anne Arundel

All-county Soccer


December 17, 2004|By Glenn P. Graham

Player of the Year

Justin Turco, Spalding

With an explosive first step and a cannon shot with both feet, Turco was one of the most dangerous forwards in the talented Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference. The senior closed out a stellar career with an 11-goal, eight-assist season to finish with 45 goals and 14 assists in his three years of varsity.

Turco, an MIAA All-Star, plans to play soccer at American University next fall.

Coach of the Year

Jeff Martin, Old Mill

What did Martin do after losing eight starters from last year's Class 4A state runner-up? He got his team right back to the championship game.

Martin put all his new pieces in the right place and relied on his limited veteran returnees to guide the Patriots to an 18-1-1 season that included a county championship and second straight state runner-up finish.

The fifth-year coach, an Old Mill graduate, has a 66-18-5 mark and has led the Patriots to three straight state playoff appearances.

First team

Name School Cl P

Bryan Blom Arundel Sr. F

Greg Fenton Severna Park Sr. F

Justin Turco Arch. Spalding Sr. F

Andrew Engel Old Mill Jr. M

Justin Kondos Arundel Sr. M

Brandon Smith Glen Burnie Sr. M

Matt Sol South River Sr. M

Taylor Young Severna Park Jr. M

Chris Gast Chesapeake Sr. D

Tim McMullen Old Mill Sr. D

Ryan Payne Old Mill Sr. D

Jay Hereford South River Sr. G

Second team

Name School Cl P

Andrew Bulls Old Mill Fr. F

Austin Shaw Southern So. F

Eric Tate Chesapeake Sr. F

Alex Buchholz Old Mill Sr. M

Ryan Kostick Northeast Sr. M

Tim McCormick Broadneck Jr. M

Mike O'Connell Arch. Spalding Jr. M

Alex Cameron St. Mary's Sr. D

Sean Jones Severna Park Sr. D

Scott McDonough South River Sr. D

Evan Richter Severna Park Sr. D

Shawn Fernholz Old Mill Sr. G

Note: Teams selected by Glenn P. Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.