Perry Hall girls give Franklin the boot in OT

McDonogh boys defeat New Jersey power, 3-1

Fall sports

High Schools

October 23, 2004|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Perry Hall's girls soccer team clinched a berth in the Baltimore County championship game yesterday, getting a goal from Sarah Holcomb four minutes into the first overtime to dispatch visiting Franklin, 2-1.

The 14th-ranked Gators (10-2-1, 9-0-1 in the county) will face No. 5 Eastern Tech in Wednesday's title game, a rematch of last year's county final in which the Mavericks won the crown that had belonged to Perry Hall the two previous seasons.

"We knew the situation before the game," Perry Hall coach Brad Kressman said. "We weren't playing for a tie. We knew we had to win the game, and the girls found a way."

Holcomb's game-winner came from the left side on a shot that trickled across the goal line after deflecting off goalkeeper Christy Molinaro. It broke a tie created by Franklin's Nikki Wilner, whose 18-yarder into the lower left corner erased a 1-0 deficit early in the second half.

No. 1 John Carroll 3, Mercy 2: Kristen Carr and Tamara George scored in the first five minutes to give the host Magic (10-7-2) an early lead, but the Patriots (15-0) rallied behind goals from Ashley Myers, Allison Carey and Rachel Layer.

No. 7 South River 1, Northeast 0: Rachel Fry scored with 25 minutes to play as the Seahawks (10-0-4) survived a test from the Eagles (5-7-1), who suffered their fifth one-goal loss.

Boys soccer

No. 1 McDonogh 3, St. Benedict's (N.J.) 1: Xavier Rock scored two goals and Wade McHugh added another as the host Eagles (17-1-2) toppled the Gray Bees (14-1-1), who entered the showdown ranked 10th nationally.

Field hockey

No. 4 Bryn Mawr 1, No. 12 Garrison Forest 0: Stephanie Coyne scored with 10:30 left in the game to give the visiting Mawrtians the win over the Grizzlies (8-7-1).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.