Education Notes

Education Notes

October 17, 2004

Mayo, Aleph Bet win summer reading awards

Mayo Elementary School has been given this year's Chesapeake Cup, an annual award from the Anne Arundel County public library given to the public and private elementary schools with the highest membership percentage in the library's summer reading program.

Marion Francis, library administrator, and Joan Beck, board of trustees president, will present the cup to Mayo principal Victoria Waldner at 9:30 a.m. Wednesday at Annapolis Middle School, 1399 Forest Drive in Annapolis.

Seventy-nine percent of the school's 264 pupils registered for this year's Reader's Rule Club.

Aleph Bet Jewish Day School, a private school that serves Annapolis and Central Maryland, also earned the award.

Arundel Middle School placed in the top five in middle school participation with 103 pupils in the club and will receive a certificate of recognition.

The schools will keep the trophies throughout the academic year.

American Italian group meets at Calvert House

Italian-American issues, history and curricula will be discussed when the 37th annual American Italian Historical Association meets Nov. 4 to 6 at the Governor Calvert House in Annapolis.

Sponsored by the Anne Arundel Community College, the conference features nine sessions of panel discussions, readings and group presentations on a common topic. Rare artifacts from the Garibaldi-Meucci Museum in New York will be on display during conference hours.

Local presenters include Frank Alduino of Centreville, a professor of history and political science at AACC, and Jean Russo, a historian with Historic Annapolis Inc.

Alduino will talk about Rep. Francis Spinola, and Russo will join a panel discussion on William Paca's ethnic identity. Other panelists will represent the State University of New York and the National Italian American Foundation.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.