Shore educator wins state award

Md.'s Teacher of the Year dedicated to leadership

October 09, 2004|BY A SUN STAFF WRITER

Bradford Engel, a social studies teacher at Kent Island High School in Queen Anne's County for the past 15 years, won the state's highest education honor last night.

Engel, who also serves as the chairman of the social studies department at the school and coordinates a schoolwide mentor advisory program, was chosen Maryland's Teacher of the Year for 2005 over six other finalists.

"To have a positive impact on the lives of students every day and to work to bring dignity to their lives has been my most rewarding opportunity in teaching," Engel wrote in his application for the award. "It is exciting to guide students into an expanded awareness of life's possibilities and to help them understand that each one of them adds a great value to the world."

A graduate of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Engel is the author of a textbook, The Four Challenges of Leadership, which is used in the high school leadership curriculum.

"Choosing Maryland's Teacher of the Year is never an easy task, and this year's nominees were some of the best ever," state schools Superintendent Nancy S. Grasmick said in a statement. "Bradford Engel's long-standing commitment to develop student leadership helped him stand out. His tireless work with students outside the confines of the regular classroom make him well worthy of our celebration."

It is the second year in a row the honor has gone to an Eastern Shore educator. Last year, the award went to Aaron Deal, a Wicomico County middle school teacher.

As part of the award, Engel will receive a Chevrolet Equinox, $5,000, an Apple computer, a one-week trip to the National Space Camp and other gifts provided by corporate sponsors.

Engel will advance to the National Teacher of the Year competition, the winner of which will be announced in April.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.