Scholarship semifinalists from Balto. Co. schools named

September 27, 2004

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced the semifinalists for this year's National Merit Scholarship Program, 43 of whom are students from schools in Baltimore County.

The Towson area had the most semifinalists with 16: Michael P. Benz and Gregory J. Bittle from Calvert Hall College High School; Anna Gorovoy, Kate A. Poole and Zachary M. Wilson from the Carver Center for Arts and Technology; Bernard J. Arnest from Loch Raven High School; Nicholas P. Ackerman, Timothy J. Aucott, Zachary S. Nevin and Robert C. Utz from Loyola Blakefield High School; and Thomas D. Beckwith, Rebecca R. Borsetti, Krista L. Gray, David R. Kreis, David K. Romney and Elena M. Vanko from Towson High School. Catonsville had 13 semifinalists: Jessica H. Beyer, Robert B. Billmyre, Catherine E. Burns, Nicholas P. Camp, Haiwen Chen, Alan C. Everhart, James D. Fitzpatrick, Martha C. Hipley, Daniel Ricketts, Kelsey H. Schueler and John A. Walsh of Catonsville High School; and Claire C. Auger and Maureen C. Maselko of Mount de Sales Academy.

Other schools represented include: Sierra N. Cullati, Sean P. McWilliams, Kristen E. Mui and Laura Voris from Dulaney High School; Gili Freedman, Karl Siganporia and Brian E. Whippo of Franklin High School; Vikas V. Mouli and Anne M. Newman of McDonogh School; Rachel Gold from Garrison Forest School; Daniel S. Obenshain from Hereford High School; Arpun R. Nagaraja of Parkville High School; Amanda K. Hesselton of Perry Hall High School; and Justin R. Thaler of Pikesville High School.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.