Athletes of the Week

Athletes of the Week

High Schools

September 22, 2004

Tristram Thomas

McDonogh, cross country

The senior put to rest any doubts about the durability of his right leg by capturing the small schools division title at the Bull Run Invitational at Hereford High on Saturday.

Thomas, who suffered a stress fracture of his right tibia during a school rendition of West Side Story in March and missed the outdoor track season last spring, finished in 17 minutes, 18 seconds.

That time proved to be the fastest recorded by any runner at the meet. Thomas has won the first two invitationals in which he has competed - the Bull Run and the Knights Invite.

Thomas is a two-time All-Metro choice in cross country and the reigning All-Metro Runner of the Year.


Alison Smith

Atholton, cross country

The sophomore rebounded nicely from veering off course at the Howard County Striders Invitational two weeks ago by winning the medium schools race at the Bull Run Invitational.

Smith's winning time of 20 minutes, 23 seconds was the fastest mark posted by an area runner at the meet and the third-fastest time overall.

Smith, whose first passion is ice skating, is the defending Howard County champion in cross country. The reigning county Runner of the Year in cross country, Smith also owns a Class 2A South region crown and placed second at the state meet last November.

Smith, region titlist in the 1,600-meter races during indoor and outdoor track, won a state crown in the 1,600 last spring.

See the Athletes of the Week online at

Nominate athletes

The Sun accepts nominations for its Athletes of the Week on Sundays, 4 p.m. to 6 p.m., at 410-332-6200 or 1-800-829-8000, extension 6200.

Two athletes (one boy and one girl) will be selected each week and featured in Wednesday's editions. To be nominated, athletes must play for their high school team. Only coaches can nominate Athletes of the Week.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.