Education Notes


September 19, 2004

AACC pool passes are available for fall

Pool passes are on sale to allow community residents and noncredit students to use the Daniel C. Olson Memorial Pool at Anne Arundel Community College during open-swim hours this fall through Dec. 8.

Passes cost $30 and are available at the AACC college store. Passes are nontransferable. Swimmers must be at least 16 years old. Students who are taking or auditing credit classes do not require a pass. Swimming suits are required.

The pool is open from noon to 12:50 p.m. and 1 p.m. to 1:50 p.m. Mondays and Wednesdays; from noon to 12:50 p.m. and from 2 to 5:50 p.m. with a 10-minute break before each hour Tuesdays; from noon to 12:50 p.m. and from 2 p.m. to 2:50 p.m. Thursdays; from noon to 12:50 p.m., 1 p.m. to 1:50 p.m. and 6 p.m. to 6:50 p.m. Fridays; and from noon to 12:50 p.m. Saturdays. AACC faculty and staff members can bring family members Saturdays.

Minor adjustments are sometimes necessary to accommodate classes and staffing. The Olson pool is heated and has special equipment to help people with physical limitations get in and out of the pool easily. Locker rooms are available, but swimmers need to take locks. Swimmers also need to take towels. Information: 410-777-2316.

St. John's College plans Homecoming Weekend

St. John's College in Annapolis will celebrate Homecoming Weekend from Oct. 1 to Oct. 3 with a series of seminars. This year's theme is Homer's Odyssey, and the weekend will culminate in a banquet hall decorated to resemble Odysseus' palace, featuring student actors playing key roles in the story.

The centerpiece of the weekend is a two-hour discussion on a great work of philosophy, art, literature, science or theology. Alumni choose from 21 seminars on works such as Dante's Inferno, Shakespeare's Othello and two etchings by Albrecht Durer.

On Oct. 2, Annapolis resident Glenn Housely will be made honorary alumnus of the Class of 2004. In addition, two alumni will receive the Alumni Association Award of Merit: William A Carter of Millsboro, Del., class of 1940, for contributions in the field of education; and Charlotte King of Lewes, Del., class of 1959, for contributions in the field of social services.

More than 40 events are planned, including a lecture by St. John's graduate Peter Weiss on "Human Rights from Antigone to Rosa Parks," a waltz party in the Great Hall of McDowell, a tour of the college's art gallery, a banquet, a ghost tour of the campus, and a champagne brunch at the home of St. John's President Christopher B. Nelson.

Anne Arundel Job Fair scheduled for Oct. 14

The Anne Arundel Job Fair will be held from noon to 4 p.m. Oct. 14, at the Centre at Glen Burnie, 6711 Governor Ritchie Highway.

Employers can reserve table space for $200 by Sept. 30. There will be no late registrations.

More than 2,000 attended a similar event last fall, and another capacity crowd is expected.

The fair is free to all job seekers and will include free seminars at 11:30 a.m. on job interviewing, and at 1 p.m. on resume preparation. Information: 410-799-9099 or 410-799-4411.

23 students in finals for Distinguished Scholar

Twenty-three Anne Arundel County public school students have been named Maryland Distinguished Scholar finalists and semifinalists.

Sponsored by the Maryland Higher Education Commission, the program recruits Maryland residents who are juniors in high school and offers them an opportunity to apply for a $3,000 per year college scholarship for full-time attendance at a Maryland college or university. Students may apply in three categories: academic achievement; artistic talent; and National Merit finalists and National Achievement finalists.

Students receiving funding are:

Kelly L. Ferguson, semifinalist, Leanna M. Shannon, semifinalist, Arundel High School; Heidi L. Baumback, finalist, Dianna S. Johnson, semifinalist, Jacqueline B. Sibears, semifinalist, Broadneck High School; Jordan L. Coleman, semifinalist, James W. McNair, finalist, John D. McNair, finalist, Melissa L. Ostrowski, semifinalist, Elisabeth M. Rainer, semifinalist, Ian P. Sylvester, semifinalist, Chesapeake High School; Ann M. Newman, semifinalist, North County High School; Bryan T. Bosworth, semifinalist, Sasan Salimian semifinalist, Northeast High School; Sara K. Metzger semifinalist, Emily G. Moore, finalist, Caitlin E. Robinson, finalist, Katura E. Smith, semifinalist, Mitchell H. VanZandt, finalist, Ashley D. Vaughan, finalist, Severna Park High School; Laura A. Hoover, finalist, Matthew R. Keffer, semifinalist, South River High School; Greta E. Kaempf, semifinalist, Southern High School.

Walk for county schools is scheduled for Oct. 2

A walk to benefit county schools will be held Oct. 2. The public is invited to take a "Walk for Children" to benefit students who attend Anne Arundel County's Deale, Lothian, Shadyside and Tracey's elementary schools as well as programs at the Carrie Weedon Science Center, a regional facility located in Galesville that serves children countywide.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.