Four named to Balto. County school board

Governor also appoints student member, praises diversity of his selections

August 07, 2004|By Joe Nawrozki | Joe Nawrozki,SUN STAFF

Four new members were appointed yesterday to Baltimore County's Board of Education by Gov. Robert L. Ehrlich Jr., along with a student member who will serve a one-year term.

In making the appointments, the governor passed up two board members who had sought reappointment.

The appointees are:

Luis E. Borunda, president of The Signman Inc. and past president and co-founder of the Baltimore Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. Borunda served on the county board's Southeast Advisory Council and founded the U.S. Hispanic Youth Entrepreneur and Education Foundation, a program for high school students, according to the governor's office. He lives in Dundalk.

Frances A.S. Harris, legislative assistant to Dels. A. Wade Kach and Patrick L. McDonough, Baltimore County Republicans. Harris spent 19 years as office manager for a Timonium pediatric practice and has been involved in leadership roles with youth and police-community groups. She lives in Timonium.

Roger C. Janssen, a construction manager for the Maryland Transportation Authority. The Parkville resident served as vice president of the countywide PTA council.

Ramona N. Johnson, deputy director of the Fannie Mae Baltimore Partnership Office. She is a member of the boards of the Liberty-Randallstown Coalition and the Maryland Center for Community Development.

Nicholas Camp, the student member, is a junior at Catonsville High School, where he is president of the speech and debate team and a competitor in the Catonsville Model United Nations. He is a member of the Baltimore County Southwest Advisory Board of Education.

In a written announcement of the appointments, the governor praised the diversity of his appointees. He also said the new members would bring a "fresh perspective" to the issue of school crowding.

At the July 14 county school board meeting, a group of northeastern county residents that advises the school board urged the building of a new high school to relieve overcrowding in Perry Hall, Towson and other growing communities.

David Marks, a member of the group, said yesterday that he hoped the new trustees would be "more sympathetic to our concern."

"Some members of the board seemed not to agree that a major step needs to be taken on the overcrowding issue," Marks said.

The school board is made up of 12 members whose appointments do not require legislative confirmation. They can serve two consecutive five-year terms.

Thomas G. Grzymski, the board's vice president, said that although he looked forward to working with the new board members, "there is some disappointment that some were not reappointed. ... We worked three years together, and they were good colleagues."

The new members will replace Jean M. Jung and Janese Murray, both of whom were up for reappointment, and James E. Walker and Phyllis E. Ettinger.

Grzymski said other key issues for the school system include continuing academic improvement and recognizing the county's urbanization and its diversity and needs.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.