Education Notes

Education Notes

July 04, 2004

Liberty High School's Florence Oliver wins principal of year

Florence Oliver, principal of Liberty High School, was recently named Principal of the Year by the Maryland Association of Student Councils.

Nomination letters for Oliver were sent by Robyn Surette, president of the Liberty Student Government Association; Estelle Sanzenbacher, adviser to the Carroll County SGA; and Doug Denison, president of the Carroll County SGA.

The letters detailed Oliver's dedication to empowering students to take a role in their school and education.

The Maryland association recognizes administrators who empower student leaders and organizations while maintaining high standards for the school.

Westminster Rotary Club announces student winners

The Westminster Rotary Club recently honored the recipients of the senior awards it sponsors at Westminster High School.

The Rotary Award, given to a male and female graduating senior, was presented to Emily Bollinger and Patrick Bubert.

The $2,000 Sherman E. Flanagan Jr. Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Hayley Clark-Braverman and Ashley Jentilet.

The Herbert J. Sell Music Scholarship went to Jaime Patricia Carbo.

An award founded in 2002 by Rotarian Barry Boston and his family honors a graduate of the Carroll County Career and Technology program who has excelled in an applied field and who will continue studies in that field. The recipient was Drew M. Engles.

Laura Brianne Coons wins award at St. Mary's

Laura Brianne Coons of Westminster was given the Margaret B. Marlay Award at St. Mary's College of Maryland's annual awards convocation.

Coons is a junior majoring in history.

The Marlay Award for English or history is given to one gifted student for work on a St. Mary's project.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.