Mayor, eight aldermen guide Annapolis

May 16, 2004|By Jason Song | Jason Song,SUN STAFF

Annapolis is governed by a nine-member city council that meets the second and fourth Mondays of each month. The council members, officially known as aldermen, are part-time officials. The only exception is the mayor, who works full time.

The city is divided into eight wards, each of which is represented by an alderman. The council is now dominated by Democrats, but it is generally nonpartisan.

The elected officials are:

Ellen O. Moyer, mayor

Moyer, a Democrat, is nearing the half-way point of her first term as mayor.

Moyer's husband, Roger, was the city's mayor from 1965 to 1973. Ellen Moyer was elected to the council in 1987 and represented Ward 8, which includes most of Eastport.

She was elected mayor in 2001 and has hired nearly 25 additional police officers. She became the public face of Annapolis during Tropical Storm Isabel, when she appeared on CNN several times.

She also became known for her love of animals. When ants invaded City Hall in the spring of 2002, Moyer forbade city employees from killing the creatures.

Louise Hammond, Ward 1

Hammond, a Democrat, represents the area closest to the City Dock, at the base of Main Street.

She has worked with the American Heart Association and the YMCA and has been on the council since 1994. She is known to be protective of her ward, and she has fought against letting certain bars stay open past midnight because she feared that patrons would disturb area residents.

Sheila M. Tolliver, Ward 2

Tolliver, a Democrat, represents the area near Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in the northern part of the city. She is the administrator for the How ard County Council, and she is serving her second term on the city council.

Tolliver is known for being a cautious politician.

She raised concerns about the city's acquisition of the Thomas Point Lighthouse, worrying that the city could be held liable if someone was hurt while visiting the 128-year-old structure near the mouth of South River.

The council approved acquiring the building despite Tolliver's objections late last year.

Classie Gillis Hoyle, Ward 3

Hoyle, also a Democrat, represents the area on the outer edges of West Street.

Hoyle was an educator for nearly 40 years, serving with the Maryland Higher Education Commission and Clarke College in Dubuque, Iowa, before being elected to the council in 2001.

Hoyle, one of three black members of the council, most recently sponsored legislation that would have forced developers to include moderately priced dwelling units in residential projects with 10 or more units.

George O. Kelley Sr., Ward 4

Kelley, a Democrat, represents the area near the western part of the city.

Kelley was a New York City police officer and joined the Annapolis Police Department in 1988. He worked in the vice and narcotics unit before retiring when he was elected to the council in 2001.

Kelley, the second black member of the council, is also an ordained minister.

David H. Cordle Sr., Ward 5

Cordle, one of two Republicans on the council, represents the area surrounding Hunt Meadow in the southern part of the city.

Cordle is the chief investigator for the Anne Arundel state's attorney's office and a retired lieutenant colonel in the Army Reserves, through which he served in the Bosnia peacekeeping mission.

Cordle is known for being the most vocal critic of some of the council's more liberal legislation, including a law that would have outlawed realistic toy guns in the city.

Cynthia Abney Carter, Ward 6

Carter, a Democrat, represents the neighborhoods bordering Eastport in the southern part of the city.

Her district includes much of the city's public housing units.

Carter was the first black woman elected to the council, in 1997, and she has become one of the council's most liberal members.

She has sponsored legislation that expressed the city's opposition to the war in Iraq and that would have banned toy guns in the city.

Most recently, Carter sponsored a resolution that expressed the city's support of Deborah Williams, a former Annapolis High School principal who was criticized for being too strict with students.

Williams is black, and many of her critics were white. None of that legislation was approved.

Michael W. Fox, Ward 7

Fox, the council's other Republican, represents the southeastern part of the city. He is in his second term on the council.

Fox works for Anne Arundel County and coaches hockey at the Naval Academy.

He is perhaps best known for inadvertently rekindling Annapolis' "bar wars" when he proposed legislation last year that would have allowed certain bars to stay open until 2 a.m. Most bars in the city must close at midnight, although a handful are allowed to stay open later.

Bar owners have long complained that the system is unfair, but many residents around Main Street say they do not want bars to stay open late.

Josh Cohen, Ward 8

Cohen, a Democrat, represents Eastport along the city's eastern shore.

Cohen develops curriculum and training programs on issues such as crime prevention, victims' rights and prostitution intervention for the state.

Cohen has been known for trying to limit growth, especially in his district, and for pushing authorities to increase police presence in the city's public housing communities.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.