May 14, 2004



CARDINALS: Activated OF Roger Cedeno from 15-day DL. Optioned P Josh Pearce to Triple-A Memphis.

GIANTS: Activated 2B Ray Durham from 15-day DL.

METS: Activated OF Cliff Floyd from 15-day DL. Designated IF Ricky Gutierez for assignment.

RANGERS: Placed P Jeff Nelson (Catonsville High) on 15-day DL. Activated P Brian Shouse from 15-day DL.

WHITE SOX: Recalled P Feliz Diaz from Triple-A Charlotte. Optioned CF-IF Jamie Burke to Charlotte.

YANKEES: Called up C David Parrish from Triple-A Columbus. Optioned P Scott Proctor to Columbus. Transferred IF-OF Travis Lee from 15- to 60-day DL.


DARTMOUTH: Named Terry Dunn men's basketball coach.

MARYLAND: Kelly Coppedge was named one of five finalists for Tewaaraton Award, given to nation's top women's lacrosse player.

MONTANA: Named Larry Krystkowiak men's basketball coach.

PENN STATE: Signed football coach Joe Paterno to four-year contract extension.

SALISBURY: Men's soccer M Dan Meehan (Queen Anne's) won Capital Athletic Conference's Male Scholar-Athlete Award. Softball OF Kareem Falcon (Chesapeake-AA) won CAC's Unsung Hero Award.


BROWNS: Announced the resignation of vice president of football operations Lal Heneghan.

BUCCANEERS: Signed DE Lamar King. Released DT Delbert Cowsette.

CHARGERS: Re-signed LB Zeke Moreno, TE Josh Norman, CB Kevin House and DE Otis Leverette to one-year contracts.

COWBOYS: Released RB Troy Hambrick.

SAINTS: Signed C Jerry Fontenot.

VIKINGS: Signed WR Aaron Hosack.


HURRICANES: Agreed with G Cam Ward on multiyear contract.

Horse racing

KENTUCKY HORSE RACING AUTHORITY: Fined jockey Stewart Elliott $1,000 for submitting inaccurate application for license to ride in Kentucky Derby.


MAJOR LEAGUE SOCCER: Disciplinary Committee announced that United M Ben Olsen and coach Peter Nowak have been fined $250 and $500, respectively, for public criticism of game officials after game against Crew on May 8.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.