CCBC-Catonsville women win crown

Anne Arundel is upset in 1st NJCAA title game

College Lacrosse


CCBC-Catonsville won the inaugural National Junior College Athletic Association women's lacrosse championship Sunday, coming from behind to knock off top-seeded Anne Arundel Community College, 11-9, at Finger Lakes Community College in Canandaigua, N.Y.

Amanda Sorenson (Old Mill), Allison Smith (Old Mill) and Amy Barcikowski (Sparrows Point) each scored three goals for the Cardinals (12-2), who rallied from a 7-4 halftime deficit to beat the Pioneers (10-1) for the first time in three meetings this season.

Sorenson, who also had four assists, was named the tournament's offensive Most Valuable Player. Cardinals goalie Melissa Seesz (Oakland Mills) made 11 saves and was named the defensive MVP.

Catonsville reached the final after a 10-9 double-overtime win Saturday over Cayuga (N.Y.) Community College, getting the winning goal from Megan Klein (Chapelgate). Anne Arundel advanced with a semifinal win over SUNY-Morrisville.

It was the fourth junior college title for Catonsville, but the first recognized by the NJCAA.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.