Two to receive due tonight as `Unsung Heroes'

High schools

May 10, 2004

The 64th McCormick Unsung Heroes Awards Banquet will be held tonight at the Marriott Hunt Valley Inn.

Two winners will be chosen from 113 candidates who represent 74 Baltimore City and County public and independent high schools.

McCormick scholarships, valued at $6,000 an academic year, will be presented to one male and one female athlete selected as Unsung Heroes.

Carolyn Peck, women's basketball coach at the University of Florida, will deliver the keynote address.

The nominees:

Archbishop Curley: Christopher Muller; Archbishop Spalding: Ryan Douglas, Angie Guaragna; Arlington Baptist: Myca Scott; Boys' Latin: Alexander Becker; Bryn Mawr: Margaret Kearney; Calvert Hall: Kevin Taylor; Cardinal Gibbons: Kevin Strickland; Carver A&T: Marisa Briscoe; Carver: Mitchell Waters, Danielle Lewis; Catholic: Amanda Peck;

Catonsville: James O'Brien, Nicole Holtman; Chesapeake: Jamaul Towns, Sierra Mims; City: Emmanuel Davis, Alanna Ingram; Douglass: Raymond Carter, Shanita Butler; DuBois: Davon Carter; Ashley Patterson; Dulaney: Gregory Materkowski, Emily McCulloh; Dunbar: Connell Cuffie, Nikina Hill; Dundalk: William Tress; Eastern Tech: Matt Sanders; Edmondson: Jonathan Sykes, Crystal Diggs;

Forest Park: Dominick Taylor, Jewel Carter; Franklin: Todd Roland Jr., Dani Moss; Friends: David Craine, Abby Seiler; Garrison Forest: Brittney Williams; Gilman: Joe Battaglia; Hereford: Nathan Gede, Kasey Sonnefeld; IND: Ashley Burrell; John Carroll: Christopher Inmon, Allison Levendusky; Kenwood: Jamar Johnson, Jennifer Guyer; Lake Clifton: Darren Foster Jr., Krystal Vaughn;

Lansdowne: Daniel Miller, Christina Rodriguez; Lewis: Jerrod Martin, Tiesha Ingram; Loch Raven: Preston Reeves, Emily Desmarais; Loyola: Patrick Curran Jr.; Lutheran; Steve Byrne, Katie Gast; Maryvale: Heather Roberts; McDonogh: Thomas Grubb, Laura Lynch; Mercy: Samantha Pyzik; Mervo: Andrew Watson; Milford Mill: Gregory Edwards, Eugenna Carson;

Mount Carmel: Brittany King; Mount de Sales: Erica Gueritot; Mount St. Joseph: Tyler Blatchley; Northwestern: Ronald Cook; NDP: Jamie Hanssen; Oldfields: Julia Ravenscroft; Overlea: Maurice Bulter; Owings Mills: Joshua Newton, Patricia Carroll; Park: Caryn Washington; Parkville: Saden Brown, Erin Duffie;

Patapsco: Bradley Thiess, Meryl Krich; Patterson: Maurice Allen, Cornelia Hilton; Perry Hall: Reggie White, Colleen Pugaczewski; Pikesville: Phillip Thomas, Elana Medin; Poly: Justin Harris, SadM-i Ferguson; Randallstown: Jahmal King, Lauren Wallace; Roland Park: Katharine Fox; Severn: Patrick O'Connell, Jessica Adam; Southern: Devin Good; Southside: Karl Anderson, Lanier Brown;

Southwestern: James Branch Jr., Tierra Winchester; Sparrows Point: Victor Robinette IV; St. Frances: Tanisha Foster; St. Mary's: Steven Knopf, Nicole Dammeyer; St. Paul's: Drew Garcia; St. Paul's School for Girls: Vermeka Lang; St. Timothy's: Akeeba Maze; Towson: Robert Seeley; Towson Catholic: Rebecca Douglass; Walbrook: Sherman Trusty, Monique Scott;

Western: Bethany Sloat; Western Tech: Brandon Pollard, Reba Nemec; Woodlawn: Travis Smith, Joy Clark.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.