May 07, 2004



MARINERS: Purchased contract of C Pat Borders from Triple-A Tacoma. Optioned C Ben Davis to Tacoma.


COMETS (WNBA): Waived G Nicky McCrimmon, F Lori Nero and G Maria Villarroel.

MYSTICS: Released G Sara Nord, G Amber Obaze and F Dana Wynne.

SPARKS: Waived G Maria Conlon and G Shaquala Williams.


AMERICAN: Named Melissa McFerrin, former Mystics general manager, women's basketball coach.

AMHERST: Announced that lacrosse M Liz Martin (Goucher) was named to All-New England Small College Athletic Conference first team.

AUBURN: Named Kerry Cremeans, Sue Guevara and Carla McGhee women's assistant basketball coaches.

BOWIE STATE: Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association named Marc Harrison women's indoor track and field Coach of the Year.

LAFAYETTE: Announced resignation of women's lacrosse coach Melissa Michels.

LOUISIANA STATE: Announced that C Treynell Clavell and G Amber Long will transfer from women's basketball team.

MISSISSIPPI: Announced men's basketball F Dwayne Curtis has transferred from Auburn.

MOUNT ST. MARY'S: Announced that softball OF Sarah Ramsburg was named to All-Northeast Conference second team.

NAVY: Patriot League named Shalimar Brazier, Adesina Ekundayo (Gilman), Trey Hines, Dave Hunt, Nathaniel Michael and Eric Porter to men's outdoor track and field first team and Jamar Green, Benjamin Glaser, Ralph Lufkin, Bobby Sparks and Stephen White to the second team. The league named Loni Forsythe, Tineisha Davis, Kristen Andrews, Jennifer Leatherman and Danielle Still to women's outdoor track and field first team and Katie Scotidas, Yasmine Sauls, Kacee Jossis, Eva Tukarski (Arundel) and Shannon Revell to the second team. The league named 1B Jared Munde and P Burgess Nichols to baseball first team.

UMBC: Announced that following lacrosse players received All-America East honors: sophomore A Brendan Mundorf (Mount St. Joseph), senior M Franklin Berry (Mount Hebron) and senior M Pat Muston earned first-team honors; senior D Brad Preisinger (Mount Hebron) was second-team selection; and freshman A Drew Westervelt (John Carroll) earned All-Rookie honors.


BEARS: Released FB Stanley Pritchett.

PACKERS: Released CB Bryant Westbrook. Signed WR Chris Day.

High schools

C. MILTON WRIGHT: Announced that Laura Canton has signed to play softball for Concord College.

LOCH RAVEN: Announced that Kelly Dreisch has signed to play lacrosse for Robert Morris and Artie Spruill has signed to play lacrosse for Howard.


INTERNATIONAL ICE HOCKEY FEDERATION: Announced that Germany and Sweden withdrew bids to be host of 2008 world championships, leaving Canada as lone candidate. Announced that former U.S. Olympic captain Lou Nanne and late Mike Buckna were inducted its Hall of Fame.

CANUCKS: Promoted Dave Nonis to general manager, Steve Tambellini to assistant general manager.

HURRICANES: Extended their affiliation with AHL Lowell through 2008-09 season.

KINGS: Re-signed D Nathan Dempsey to multi-year contract.


MISL: Named Sidekick's Tatu Coach of the Year.

WAVE (MISL): Signed F Nick Walls.


ESPN: Announced that broadcaster Dick Enberg will join network for Grand Slam tennis events starting this year.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.