Home waters are friendly to local one-design sailors

Maryland entries win 13 of 19 classes in 3-day event


May 03, 2004|By Candus Thomson | Candus Thomson,SUN STAFF

It was a great weekend for sailors who call the Chesapeake Bay home.

Maryland racers yesterday won 13 of 19 classes in the National Offshore One Design regatta held off Annapolis, a stop on one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious circuits.

Scott Nixon of Annapolis led the 81-boat J/22 fleet in points in each of the three days of sailing. The St. Mary's College graduate said his strategy going into the final day's single race was to "stay close to Henry Filter and David Van Cleef," the local skippers in second and third place.

After pushing Filter back in the fleet, Nixon gave chase to Van Cleef and finished just behind him.

"We weren't necessarily trying to win it, but we weren't trying to lose it, either," said Nixon, who with most other J/22 sailors, used the NOOD as a tuneup for the world championship May 17-21 in Annapolis.

The winner of the J/105s last year, Alec Cutler of Annapolis, finished seventh in the J/22 class yesterday.

"I'm trying a new boat because the worlds are here," he said. "The first time we went out to practice two weeks ago, we tacked and I walked off the back of the boat. We've progressed from there."

Winds were blowing out of the south at 11 mph to 14 mph, with a few stronger puffs. Seas were 1 to 2 feet in the outside racing circles and 1 foot on the inside circle.

Three local boats won yesterday to take six of seven races over the three days: co-skippers Jim Sagerholm and Jerry Christoflel of Annapolis in the J/35s, Roy Lappalainen of Baltimore in the Pearson 30s and Arthur Libby of Severna Park in the Cal 35s.

In 12 classes, the final day of racing produced no changes in the top three. None of the eight sailors defending titles won.

Sylvan Chaix of Sparks said choosing a lighter sail was the key to holding on for the win in the closely contested Etchells class.

"We had a light jib and a medium jib. It was windy at the start, but quieted down. We bet on that and had a light jib up when everyone else had a medium," said the Annapolis Yacht Club member. "We had two people to beat, and we beat them. Everybody else, it didn't matter."

Chaix chalked up three first-place finishes, one second, two thirds and a sixth.

Thomas Ritter overcame a three-point deficit to win the Mumm 30 class from fellow Michigan sailor Dan Cheresh. The NOOD race served as the national circuit championship.

Top three finishers in each class:

Alberg 30 (seven boats): Rolph Townshend, Severna Park; Charles Currier, Annapolis; Lanny Helms, Columbia.

Beneteau 36.7 (nine boats): Garth Hichens, Annapolis; Peter Fiery, Vienna; Wes Siegner, Chevy Chase.

Cal 25 (11 boats): Arthur Libby, Severna Park; Tim Bloomfield, Sherwood Forest; Charles Husar, Annapolis.

Cat 27 (13 boats): Julian and Jennifer Richards, Annapolis; Tom Walsh, Pasadena; John Ebell, Annapolis.

Etchells (15 boats): Sylvan Chaix, Sparks; Gary Gilbert, Oakton, Va.; Wade Edwards, Concord, Mass.

Henderson 30 (six boats): Liebel Brothers, St. Petersburg, Fla.; Michael Carroll, Tampa, Fla., Neil Rattan, Westport, Conn.

J/22 (81 boats): Scott Nixon, Annapolis; David Van Cleef, Annapolis; Henry Filter, Stevensville.

J/24 (22 boats): Wataru Sakamoto, Wakayama, Japan; Peter Rich, Annapolis; Paul Van Ravenswaay, Annapolis.

J/27 (6 boats): Douglas Davies, Stony Brook, N.Y.; Peter Johnson, Orchard Park, N.Y.; Erik Fridley and Deke Johnson, Annapolis.

J/30 (13 boats): Larry and Pat Christy, Annapolis; Bob Rutsch, Chevy Chase; David McConaughy, Newport News, Va.

J/35 (eight boats): Jim Sagerholm and Jerry Christoflel, Annapolis; Peter Scheidt, Highland; Charles Kohlerman III, Brookhaven, Pa.

J/80 (six boats): John Storck, Huntington, N.Y.; Matt Baker, Princeton, N.J.; David Jannetti, Sag Harbor, N.Y.

J/105 (24 boats): Cedric Salvesen, Annapolis; Jim Konigsberg, Fairfax, Va.; Robert Reeves, Annapolis.

Melges 24 (14 boats): John Pollard, Torquay Devon, England; Joe Woods, Torquay Devon, England; Bob Dockery, Longboat Key, Fla.

Mumm 30 (15 boats): Thomas Ritter, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.; Dan Cheresh, Holland, Mich.; Fred Sherratt, Toronto.

Pearson 30 (five boats): Roy Lappalainen, Baltimore; John Blais, Hampton, Va.; Roy Ericson, Annapolis.

Tripp 26 (nine boats): Michele Zinn, Annapolis; George Benisek, Annapolis; Tom Awalt, Pasadena.

S/27.9 (12 boats): David Nielson, Annapolis; Bob Fleck, Alexandria, Va., Doug Frye, Spring Lake, Mich.

Star (16 boats): Aaron Serinis, St. Michaels; Jock Kohlhas, Miami; Brian Cramer, London, Ontario.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.