Cottle, Walters honored by ACC

Maryland coach, player earn top awards

College lacrosse

April 27, 2004|By Staff

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Maryland head coach Dave Cottle was named the Atlantic Coast Conference Coach of the Year while attackman Joe Walters garnered Player of the Year accolades.

Walters, the 2003 ACC Rookie of the Year, leads the league in scoring with 51 points and goals with 36 this season. The sophomore was named to the All-ACC team this year and was also voted the ACC Championship Most Valuable Player.

Walters tallied six goals and one assist in the championship game to lead Maryland to its first ACC title since 1998. He had nine goals during the event to set a new ACC Tournament record.

Cottle earns ACC Coach of the Year honors for the first time in his career. In just his third season at Maryland, Cottle led the Terrapins to their first ACC crown since 1998 and a ranking in the top three of the Geico/USILA/STX Division I Coaches' Poll all season long.

This year marks the first time since 1998 that Maryland has both the Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards. Goalie Kevin Healy was the ACC Player of the Year in 1998 and legendary coach Dick Edell earned his third ACC Coach of the Year honor in 1998 as well.

Duke's Matt Danowski was honored as the ACC Freshman of the Year.

Originally published April 27, 2004, 3:41 PM EDT

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.