April 27, 2004


Auto racing

IRL: Announced that Bruno Junqueira will drive in Indianapolis 500 for Newman/Haas Racing. Announced that Felipe Giaffone will drive for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing the rest of this season in place of Robbie Buhl.


BRAVES: Placed OF Chipper Jones on 15-day DL, retroactive to April 19, with strained right hamstring. Recalled IF Mike Hessman from Triple-A Richmond.

EXPOS: Recalled OF Valentino Pascucci from Triple-A Edmonton. Purchased contract of P Rigo Beltran from Triple-A Edmonton.

GIANTS: Placed P Dustin Hermanson on 15-day DL, retroactive to April 21, with lower back strain. Purchased contract of former Orioles SS Deivi Cruz from Triple-A Fresno.

INDIANS: Acquired IF-OF Russell Branyan from Braves for player to be named.

MARINERS: Recalled P Matt Thornton from Triple-A Tacoma. Designated P Kevin Jarvis for assignment.

PIRATES: Placed 1B Randall Simon on 15-day DL with strained left hamstring. Recalled 1B Carlos Rivera from Triple-A Nashville.

REDS: Activated 3B Brandon Larson from 15-day DL. Optioned C Corky Miller to Triple-A Louisville.

RED SOX: Placed OF-DH Ellis Burks on 15-day DL with medial meniscus tear in left knee.


CELTICS: Announced that interim coach John Carroll will not be retained.

COMETS (WNBA): Announced retirement of G Ukari Figgs.

MERCURY (WNBA): Announced retirement of F Lisa Harrison and that she will join coaching staff. Named Cedric Ceballos special assistant coach.

SPARKS (WNBA): Waived F-C Tausha Mills.


DELAWARE: CAA named M Alex Smith (Boys' Latin) men's lacrosse Rookie of the Week.

EAST TENNESSEE STATE: Announced that men's basketball F A.J. Jackson will receive permission to transfer.

GEORGE WASHINGTON: Atlantic 10 named M Laura Hostetler (River Hill) women's lacrosse Rookie of the Week.

GOUCHER: CAC named Natalie Williams (Mount de Sales) women's track Athlete of the Year.

JOHNS HOPKINS: Announced that A Kyle Barrie and M Kyle Harrison are nominees for Tewaaraton Award, which goes to nation's top college lacrosse player.

MARIST: Named Matt Brady men's basketball coach; signed him to four-year contract.

MARYLAND: Announced that D Chris Passavia, A Joe Walters and D Lee Zink are nominees for Tewaaraton Award.

MIAMI: Announced that men's basketball F Karron Clarke will transfer out of program.

NAVY: Announced that A Ian Dingman is nominee for Tewaaraton Award.


NOTE: NFL moves are on Page 7E.

ARGONAUTS (CFL): Signed RB John Avery.


CAPITALS: Signed Quinnipiac G Justin Eddy.


CANNONS (MLL): Claimed M Graham Davidson from league player pool. Waived D Chris Sullivan.

RATTLERS (MLL): Claimed G Larry Falkman from league player pool.


UNITED (MLS): Announced that F Ronald Cerritos has been called up by El Salvador national team.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.