Baltimore County police divers to be honored for Isabel efforts

April 20, 2004|By Jacqueline Seaberg | Jacqueline Seaberg, Staff

Members of the Baltimore County Police Department's dive squad will be honored tomorrow for their efforts to rescue residents during Hurricane Isabel last year, officials said today.

Baltimore County police Chief Terrence B. Sheridan will bestow the Medal of Honor to members of the Special Services Section Underwater Recovery Squad at 11 a.m. during a special ceremony at the Public Safety Building in Towson.

During the rescue missions, divers carried elderly victims to inflatable boats, and the team members regularly held on to the sides of their boats after they were filled to capacity to allow more victims to be carried. The divers also entered water that had been polluted by sewage and petroleum products, dodged floating debris and fought underwater currents.

The team members to be honored include Sgt. Wayne T. Lloyd; Sgt. Christopher S. Wrzosek; Cpl. Daniel L. Kramer; Officer Arthur M. Erdman; Officer Roland J. Greenwalt Jr.; Officer John L. Kramer; Officer Bradley J. Lewis; Officer Robert L. Warnick II; and Officer Tommy J. Yi.

Originally published April 20, 2004, 2:30 PM EDT

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.