UMBC men surprised by Binghamton, 5-4

McDaniel's 8th win in row sets school women's mark


April 08, 2004|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Brian Chaapel scored his second goal of the game with four seconds remaining, propelling Binghamton to a 5-4 upset over UMBC in men's lacrosse yesterday in Vestal, N.Y.

The win vaulted the Bearcats into sole possession of first place in America East.

Brendan Mundorf had given the Retrievers (3-4, 1-1 America East) a 4-3 lead with nine minutes to play, but Chaapel scored the next two to lift Binghamton (4-4, 2-0).

Drew Westervelt scored twice for UMBC, and Mundorf finished with a goal and an assist. Kevin Cepelak made nine saves.

The Retrievers had the edge in shots, 22-16. Kevin McKeown finished with 10 saves for Binghamton.

Villa Julie 9, York 8: The host Mustangs (4-4) fell behind 3-1 early but rallied behind a five-goal performance from Travis Hinkle to beat the Spartans (2-7) for the second straight season.


McDaniel 11, Franklin & Marshall 8: The host Green Terror (8-1, 4-0 Centennial Conference) tied a school record with its eighth straight win, rallying from a 6-2 deficit to beat the Diplomats (3-5, 1-2).

Franklin & Marshall's Alexis O'Meara led all scorers with four goals. Tara Smith and Jillian Farrell each scored twice for McDaniel.

Washington College 16, Haverford 14: Lindsey Eichner scored four times and recorded six assists to lead the host Shorewomen (6-4, 3-2 Centennial) past the Fords (3-5, 1-3). Washington led 15-8 in the second half, then withstood a 6-1 surge from Haverford to win.

St. Mary's 11, Goucher 7: The Seahawks (9-2, 3-0 Capital Athletic Conference) scored the game's last four goals to break open a game in Towson that included six ties.

Carol Schmoeller had five goals for St. Mary's. Kate Howell led the Gophers (7-4, 2-2) with two goals and two assists.

With the win, the Seahawks stayed in sole possession of second place in the CAC.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.