Westminster High students earn honors at conference

March 28, 2004

Six Westminster High School marketing students recently participated in the 41st annual Maryland Career Development Conference, earning 27 awards and two state Distributive Education Clubs of America executive board positions.

First-place winners Emily Pritts, Haley Clark-Braverman, Kevin Graff and Stephanie Martz earned spots at the International DECA Career Development Conference next month.

Pritts, state president, and Clark-Braverman, region vice president, also helped preside over the conference.

Individual accomplishments are:

Emily Pritts: first place in Apparel & Accessories Competency Series and Knowledge Test, Economics Case-Study, Pricing Case-Study events, and Merchandise Decision Making team event; finalist in Marketing Concepts event.

Haley Clark-Braverman: first place in Advertising Campaign Participatory Event and Merchandise Decision Making team event; second place in Public Speaking; finalist in Food Marketing Competency Series event, winning the Knowledge Test and Marketing Information Management Case-Study events.

Kevin Graff: first place in Business Services Marketing Competency Series Event and Knowledge Test, Business Management and Entrepreneurship Case-Study, Marketing Information Management Case-Study events; second place in Human Relations Decision Making team event.

Stephanie Martz: first place in Marketing Management Competency Series Event and Knowledge Test, Selling Case-Study, and Business, Management and Entrepreneurship Case-Study events; second place in Human Relations Decision-Making team event; third place in Free Enterprise Economics Test.

Yasin Salam: first place in Merchandise Decision Making team event.

Katie Seibel: finalist in Retail Merchandising Management Level Competency Series event; first place in "Selling" Case-Study event.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.