Performers To Watch

Boys Track And Field

High School Sports

March 19, 2004

Kevin Barnes

Old Mill, jumps

The senior hopes to repeat last year's effort that included sweeping the high jump at the Anne Arundel County, Class 4A East region and state levels.

Ronald Bias

Woodlawn, jumps

Barnes' primary competition could come from this senior, who won the high jump at the Class 4A-3A state championships during the indoor season.

Henry Campbell

Aberdeen, middle distance

The senior rebounded from a mediocre showing at the Harford County championships to win the 1,600 at the Class 2A state meet.

Tony Cole

Oakland Mills, sprints

The senior, who won a Class 1A state crown in the 100 last spring, could bring home four gold medals from the state meet.

Darrius Heyward-Bey

McDonogh, sprints

The junior returns as the lone double winner (100 and 200) from last year's Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference championships.

Bryan Jones

Arundel, hurdles

The senior is only three years removed from a season that included an Anne Arundel County and Class 4A East region title in the 110 high hurdles.

Brian Leiter

F.S. Key, middle distance

The junior took the 800 at the Carroll County and Class 2A state championships last season.

Brandon Lynch

Mervo, middle distance

The Mustangs' hopes for a state championship rely on the senior, who won the Class 4A state crown in the 800.

George Panniell

Calvert Hall, hurdles

The senior would love to add an MIAA A Conference title in the 300 intermediate hurdles to the 110 high hurdles crown he earned last spring.

Kevin Walsh

H. de Grace, jumps, p. vault

The senior gave Harford County two state titles when he cleared 12 feet to win the pole vault at the Class 1A state meet.

Other notables

Mike Adams, Mount St. Joseph; Ryan Audy, Mount St. Joseph; Dustin Bauer, Calvert Hall; Tyler Blatchley, Mount St. Joseph; Barshied Bowman, C. Milton Wright; Chris Bryant, Old Mill; Michael Burke, Century; Julius Coleman, Mervo; Larry Contrella, Old Mill; Andrew Corddry, Annapolis; Rob Daniels, Archbishop Curley; Joe Dillard, Perry Hall; Phil Diven, South Carroll; Will Eden, Annapolis; Drew Graybeal, Glenelg; Samuel Henry, Woodlawn; Rob Hritz, Calvert Hall; Gerome Jones, Southern-B; Augustus Korkoya, Chesapeake-B; A.J. Lee, Southern-AA; Anthony Littlejohn, Old Mill; Joe Lyon, Fallston; James Oleinik, Centennial; Brian Parker, Archbishop Spalding; Stephen Pinkett, Randallstown; Phil Taylor, Mount St. Joseph; Kevin Teal, Westminster; Michael Wade, River Hill; Tim Wunderlich, North Carroll; Cedric Zellner, Archbishop Spalding.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.