Boys Lacrosse

High School Sports

March 19, 2004


1. Calvert Hall

Last season: 18-4, ranked No. 1

All-Metro Player of The Year attackman Kevin Huntley, second-team All-Metro goalie Jeremy Blevins and midfielder Kevin Buchanan look to repeat as MIAA champs.

2. Loyola

Last season: 12-4, No. 3

Attackmen Andrew Baird and Ben Rubeor, defender Tim Kaiser and faceoff middie Ted Melanson lead the MIAA semifinalists.

3. St. Mary's

Last season: 12-7, No. 2

Attack-middie Garrett Stanwick, middie Will Dalton and goalie Jason Carter form the backbone.

4. Gilman

Last season: 10-6, No. 5

Princeton-bound David Baker (defense) and Zach Goldberg (midfield), Yale-bound Davis Lindsey (midfield) and Notre Dame-bound Alex Wharton (attack) lead the way.

5. Boys' Latin

Last season: 16-4, No. 4

Midfielder Shane Walterhoefer and defender Evans Burns lead the Lakers.

6. St. Paul's

Last season: 8-11, No. 10

Defender Thomas Zimmerman, midfielder Jason Donati and top scorers Gavin Gill and Bart Wagner are among nine returning starters.

7. McDonogh

Last season: 14-8, No. 9

Attackman Skylar Hopkins, midfielder Rory Sanborn and attackman Collins Carey combined for 122 points.

8. Dulaney

Last season: 17-2, No. 6

Gary Schreiber, 58, returns for a 25th coaching season to a program that has won four straight 4A-3A state titles.

9. Severna Park

Last season: 18-1, No. 7

All-County goalie Mike Gvozden, attackman Ben Hunt and defender Tommy Zichelli return.

10. Broadneck

Last season: 14-5, unranked

Midfielders Kyle Bloomfield and Jordan Sokel, defender Mark Phelan and goalie Jake Boulay return for the Anne Arundel County runner-up.

11. Severn

Last season: 9-10, No. 8

The youthful Admirals have a new coach in John Tucker, formerly of Loyola.

12. Mount St. Joseph

Last season: 6-10, No. 11

Defender Brandon Mathias and midfielder Pat Wyatt return to a youthful team.

13. Hereford

Last season: 14-4, No. 15

Midfielders Bret Yoder, Travis Radebaugh and Ray Wittelsberger lead the defending 2A-1A state champion Bulls.

14. John Carroll

Last season: 14-1, No. 13

Top guns Ryan Hammill, Matt Scanlon and Ryan Sariginnis spark the defending MIAA B Conference champs.

15. Glenelg

Last season: 14-3, unranked

Returning is one of the nation's best junior goalies in Ward Odenwald.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.